We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, pure and simple”
Review of La Baraque a Boeuf

La Baraque a Boeuf
Ranked #2 of 329 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, pure and simple”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were taken here by my sister who is a frequent visitor to the restaurant. The whole experience was superb, from the initial welcome, through the service (attentive, polite, friendly) to the food which was astonishingly good. For my main I tried the Tartare of Beef "allez retour" and found it to be exquisite. The whole menu was reasonably priced, the portions generous and washed down with good wine.

It's a shame I don't live closer or this would be my new venue of choice. Chapeau!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhntigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    331
    57
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this amazing restaurant after enjoying a visit to the nearby cathedral looking for lunch. Chose a 2 course meal and, on looking up the restaurant on Trip Advisor later we're not at all surprised to see that this is the highest rated restaurant in Le Mans. Service really friendly despite our poor French. Food arrived in good time beautifully presented and seasoned - 2 courses, coffee and liqueur all for euros 11.90!!! Very busy inside but luckily room under food and heated canopy outside. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a group we tried to get a table at L'Auberge 7 Plats, located just behind this restaurant, but they were fully booked (no surprise). They apologised, but recommended La Baroque a Boeuf and we were not disappointed. Although 7 Plats did not say they were owned by the same people, the menu, standard and price was the same, even down to the presentation and taste of the steaks, which are unbelievably good.
Among some very good restaurants in the Plantagenet quarter, this must rate as one of the best on both quality and price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For us, left-field choice, but every bit as good as others have found”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Being non-meat eaters, we decided on Le Bistrot d'a cote, but found this restaurant at the address. It was late, so despite the reference to beef, we decided to give it a try ...and were glad we did.
Fish was good, salads were even better, and service was fine.
So what's not to like: only that the cheapest champagne was €50; surprised and disappointed to not find a non-name-but-quality champagne in a French restaurant.
Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its very best”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from the 24 hr Moto, we met a detist friend from Le Mans for dinner and he took us to his favourite restaurant and WOW, we all agreed that this meal was prprobably the best we had ever eaten and we have travelled extensively between us! It even takes top spot on my list above a little Italian in Verona. If you can gets table snap it up!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masteryoda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baraque a Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La Baraque a Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing