We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of La Baraque a Boeuf

La Baraque a Boeuf
Ranked #2 of 330 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a group we tried to get a table at L'Auberge 7 Plats, located just behind this restaurant, but they were fully booked (no surprise). They apologised, but recommended La Baroque a Boeuf and we were not disappointed. Although 7 Plats did not say they were owned by the same people, the menu, standard and price was the same, even down to the presentation and taste of the steaks, which are unbelievably good.
Among some very good restaurants in the Plantagenet quarter, this must rate as one of the best on both quality and price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    334
    57
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For us, left-field choice, but every bit as good as others have found”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Being non-meat eaters, we decided on Le Bistrot d'a cote, but found this restaurant at the address. It was late, so despite the reference to beef, we decided to give it a try ...and were glad we did.
Fish was good, salads were even better, and service was fine.
So what's not to like: only that the cheapest champagne was €50; surprised and disappointed to not find a non-name-but-quality champagne in a French restaurant.
Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its very best”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from the 24 hr Moto, we met a detist friend from Le Mans for dinner and he took us to his favourite restaurant and WOW, we all agreed that this meal was prprobably the best we had ever eaten and we have travelled extensively between us! It even takes top spot on my list above a little Italian in Verona. If you can gets table snap it up!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masteryoda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rightfully the best restaurant in Le Mans”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Came here with my father-in-law having booked ahead.

Is set in the square in the old part of the city. The restaurant was rammed, but the service was fast and friendly.

Had the set menu at 22€ which was great value, great steak tartare starter followed by cappaccio of beef, we were so stuffed that did not have space for a desert. As a result we were not charged for our coffees.

Total with water and 1/2 bottle red just over 50€, amazing value and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fabulous meal with excellent service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were looking for lunch in the beautiful plantagenet city and , while many restaurants were shut or empty, this place was absolutely buzzing. There was just one newly vacated table available outside which a waiter quickly cleared for us but, as it was 1.30, warned us that we would only have time for two courses. This suited us fine and we opted for the 11.90 euros menu offering main, desert and coffee plus a 50cl carafe of rose for 8 euros. Excellent bread arrived instantly and the main course about ten minutes later. My veal was superb but my wife's beef was a bit rare even by French standards. One of the waiters noticed her reaction upon cutting into it and immediately asked if it was ok and then whisked it off to the kitchen to be returned in less than 5 minutes cooked to perfection. The deserts were equally impressive and we were given a (for once) delicious cherry liquor to go with our coffee and did not feel pressured to hurry even though, at 2.45, the restaurant was getting ready to close. The old part of Le Mans is definitely worth a stop off or detour and this is THE place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baraque a Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La Baraque a Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing