We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For us, left-field choice, but every bit as good as others have found”
Review of La Baraque a Boeuf

La Baraque a Boeuf
Ranked #2 of 330 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For us, left-field choice, but every bit as good as others have found”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Being non-meat eaters, we decided on Le Bistrot d'a cote, but found this restaurant at the address. It was late, so despite the reference to beef, we decided to give it a try ...and were glad we did.
Fish was good, salads were even better, and service was fine.
So what's not to like: only that the cheapest champagne was €50; surprised and disappointed to not find a non-name-but-quality champagne in a French restaurant.
Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    334
    57
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its very best”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from the 24 hr Moto, we met a detist friend from Le Mans for dinner and he took us to his favourite restaurant and WOW, we all agreed that this meal was prprobably the best we had ever eaten and we have travelled extensively between us! It even takes top spot on my list above a little Italian in Verona. If you can gets table snap it up!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masteryoda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rightfully the best restaurant in Le Mans”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Came here with my father-in-law having booked ahead.

Is set in the square in the old part of the city. The restaurant was rammed, but the service was fast and friendly.

Had the set menu at 22€ which was great value, great steak tartare starter followed by cappaccio of beef, we were so stuffed that did not have space for a desert. As a result we were not charged for our coffees.

Total with water and 1/2 bottle red just over 50€, amazing value and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fabulous meal with excellent service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were looking for lunch in the beautiful plantagenet city and , while many restaurants were shut or empty, this place was absolutely buzzing. There was just one newly vacated table available outside which a waiter quickly cleared for us but, as it was 1.30, warned us that we would only have time for two courses. This suited us fine and we opted for the 11.90 euros menu offering main, desert and coffee plus a 50cl carafe of rose for 8 euros. Excellent bread arrived instantly and the main course about ten minutes later. My veal was superb but my wife's beef was a bit rare even by French standards. One of the waiters noticed her reaction upon cutting into it and immediately asked if it was ok and then whisked it off to the kitchen to be returned in less than 5 minutes cooked to perfection. The deserts were equally impressive and we were given a (for once) delicious cherry liquor to go with our coffee and did not feel pressured to hurry even though, at 2.45, the restaurant was getting ready to close. The old part of Le Mans is definitely worth a stop off or detour and this is THE place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The restaurant is situated in the beautiful medieval quarter of Le Mans and you need a good map to find it on foot. Booking is absolutely essential and although we did book, there was no record of it when we arrived. No matter, we were found a table in the basement after a short wait. The last table as it turned out. It was actually quite good and the room had a curved stone roof and was fully air conditioned.

Service here is rapid and the waiters efficient and friendly. Within 10 minutes our first course arrived. My wife had eggs poached in a cream sauce enriched with foie gras and I had escargot in a mushroom sauce. Both dishes were very tasty and filling. For main course we had eminces de boeuf – multiple thinly sliced rare beef in a pepper sauce and two brochette de boeuf in a Roquefort sauce. The restaurant are quite clever here, because the beef is the same except that the brochette is actually tightly rolled slices of the eminces beef. All this was served with beautifully crispy potato chips, tomato and a few salad leaves. Quite inexplicable was two large pots of mushroom mash served with the main course. These were really heavy and we only ate a couple of mouthfuls. For dessert we had a colonel sorbet which was heavily laced with vodka. There was a complimentary cherry liqueur which was frankly undrinkable.

Overall, although this is not what you would call a top notch foodie restaurant, it does serve good food at a very good price. Our meal for two was only €20.90 each not including drinks. So if you want to eat in a charming old building in the medieval quarter, this is the place to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baraque a Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La Baraque a Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing