We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Baraque a Boeuf

La Baraque a Boeuf
Ranked #1 of 306 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The restaurant is situated in the beautiful medieval quarter of Le Mans and you need a good map to find it on foot. Booking is absolutely essential and although we did book, there was no record of it when we arrived. No matter, we were found a table in the basement after a short wait. The last table as it turned out. It was actually quite good and the room had a curved stone roof and was fully air conditioned.

Service here is rapid and the waiters efficient and friendly. Within 10 minutes our first course arrived. My wife had eggs poached in a cream sauce enriched with foie gras and I had escargot in a mushroom sauce. Both dishes were very tasty and filling. For main course we had eminces de boeuf – multiple thinly sliced rare beef in a pepper sauce and two brochette de boeuf in a Roquefort sauce. The restaurant are quite clever here, because the beef is the same except that the brochette is actually tightly rolled slices of the eminces beef. All this was served with beautifully crispy potato chips, tomato and a few salad leaves. Quite inexplicable was two large pots of mushroom mash served with the main course. These were really heavy and we only ate a couple of mouthfuls. For dessert we had a colonel sorbet which was heavily laced with vodka. There was a complimentary cherry liqueur which was frankly undrinkable.

Overall, although this is not what you would call a top notch foodie restaurant, it does serve good food at a very good price. Our meal for two was only €20.90 each not including drinks. So if you want to eat in a charming old building in the medieval quarter, this is the place to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    298
    49
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food good service and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great meal here nice staff and excellent food, will defo go again, outside was packed as was the restaurant next door so i would reccomend booking, moderately priced and worth a visit if your in le Mans old town, lots of road works going on in the area but the restaurant is in a nice square off the main roads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dannymoisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Super Boeuf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great day in Le Mans the day before the big race and we need some food. These guys welcomed us into a packed restaurant. The bread was gorgeous, with mustardy stuff to spread on. We ordered their speciality with is finely sliced beef cooked with a pepper sauce and amazing potatoes. It was just fab. And then we had apple crumble and they even brought sweets. The waiters were so friendly, even in English and we had a great night. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billiam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable price made it even tastier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It makes a pleasent change that the No 1 rated restaurant in a town isn't also the most expensive.

Food was excellent. Pave of Beef with Roquefort was so good I was dissappointed that I had the excellent starter of eggs in cream with Fois Gras. The Beef was very thinly sliced, cooked to perfection and all sat on a Potato rosti which soaked up all the juices ( I couldn't quite finish this and felt berieved as a consequence).

We dined with our 5 yr old son, although there wasn't a kids menu the waiter came up with a dish at a reasonable price.

Entree and Plat Menu was 17 euro washed down with a cheeky bottle of Chinon at 20 euro.

Everything out of ther top drawer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank berksihirelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good meal - reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thank you to the Tripadvisor community for steering us to this restaurant. We had one of the best meals of our recent vacation. The beef brochette was tender and well seasoned plus it was served with 3 kinds of potatoes - all amazing! The manager was very happy to hear that we had followed Tripadvisor's advice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmcginni111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baraque a Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to La Baraque a Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing