We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually ...just as sharp as the web site suggests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Demeure de Laclais
Ranked #3 of 23 Le Mans B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Faultless, the property is situated directly next to the rear of the catherdral and immediately adjacent to the Cite Plategenet on top of the ridge which dominates the whoe town. The welcome and assisstance afforded by Eric was a perfect start to our stay, he was good enough to offer to carry my very large & heavy case up to the Berengere room at the top of the house. A private small lobby area unfoldes into two large seperate rooms, one, a bedroom which quite suprisingly includes the bath tub, and provides views North across the river. The second room, a lounge area looking directly onto the rear of the catherdral. Well appointed throughout and extremly sharply decorated and maintained. On top of all this, the bedroom has a door which leads onto a small terrace which affords both a good viewpoint and a convenient extra place to enjoy the late afternoon sunshine. The Darty Wifi solution whilst unknown to me, worked very well. Breakfast was top class, infact, everything about the property suggests that the owners are trying so very hard to ensure that guests enjoy thier stay, if only that were the case throughout the industry. Worth noting, there is no private car parking, but public parking is easy being immeditaely closeby, next to the cathedral. We did not use the garden, but it looked equally well maintained.

Room Tip: The Berengere room is a treat and certainly worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

My family (which includes two teenaged children) stayed in La Tourelle for one night. There are actually two massive adjoining rooms with 12 foot ceilings arranged in a L shape. For a accommodation in France, the suite was palatial! We all had more than enough space for all our bags. The hosts were very hospitable & welcoming. We would've preferred the shower to have frosted glass since we (as the parents) had to shift to the kids' room while they took turns showering & vice versa. The toilet being in the tower was quite quaint.

The location is very well situated as it was very close to one of our favourite restaurants of our 3 week trip to France -(l'Auberge de 7 Plats) and the Cathédrale St-Julien.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was suppose to be a treat after camping for 4 days at the Le Mans 24 hour race. The room we were given was not en-suite the bathroom being across the landing from the room. The shower was over the bath with no curtain so difficult not to splash water everywhere. The room we were given had many personal effects of the owners as did the bathroom, making us feel they had moved out of their rooms to fit us in. We were on the top floor with a skylight window and the view over the cathedral would have been wonderful if we could have opened the blind. One of the bed side lights did not work either.
The breakfast was ok, but for 90euros per night we did expect something better.
Maybe the other rooms were alright????

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorfolkFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our family have stayed at this delightful B & B on 3 occasions now since November 2010 and we now feel like it is a home away from home This is made particularly so because of the fantastic hosts Brigitte and Eric. The rooms are perfect and we have tried the Cyrano and Tournelle suites depending on our requirements. Both suites were beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Breakfasts are perfect and the location could not be better. we would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting Le Mans.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelswithfirstborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is a beautifully appointed, perfectly located B&B with hosts that couldn't do more for you. We stayed in the Cyrano bedroom which had a wonderful view of the cathedral, and was spacious and very tastefully decorated. Brigitte provided a perfect breakfast and Eric helped us out in our hour of need, after we had our car towed and had to extricate it from the pound, not only did he drive us to the police station, then the pound but lead us to the motorway to set us on our way. Be aware that there is a market on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday on the far side of the cathedral from the B&B, and your car will be towed if left overnight! I would highly recommend La Demeure de Laclais to anyone visiting Le Mans.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights as a treat for my husband's birthday and booked the Berengere suite which is on the top floor with a private terrace overlooking Le Mans on one side and windows overlooking the cathedral on the other. Our stay was perfect from start to finish. The place was easy to find because it's right opposite the cathedral and parking is free just outside over the weekend. The hosts, Brigitte and Eric, couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming - they lent me a hairdryer for the stay and also helped us with reservations for a local restaurant and helped us search and book accomodation at a a Chambre d'hote for the rest of our trip in the south of France. The decoration is modern and tasteful and the suite was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. The highlight was the rolltop bath in the bedroom which had views across Le Mans from the open window and door to the terrace. The private terrace had 2 sun loungers and a little table with fabulous views, but if you don't book the suite, the garden is also lovely and there are seats to relax during the day. Breakfast was served in the garden and comprised, croissants and baguette with homemade jams, fresh orange juice, fruits and tea or coffee. Free wi-fi was also available. We were perfectly situated to walk into town and there are plenty of excellent restaurants to choose from. We can't recommend this place highly enough! It was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We have spent two nights in La Demeure de Laclais and we have been delighted by the beauty of the place and the incredible kindness of the hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humpbackwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#3 of 41 in Le Mans
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#5 of 41 in Le Mans
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Le Mans Ouest - Universite
0.5 mi away
Le Clos d'Hauteville
Le Clos d'Hauteville
#2 of 23 in Le Mans
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Demeure de Laclais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Demeure de Laclais

Address: 4 B Place du Cardinal Grente | La Demeure de Laclais, 72000, Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Le Mans
Price Range: $108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Demeure de Laclais 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born during the nineteenth century, the “Demeure de Laclais” is Located in the heart of the Plantagenet old city (also called Vieux Mans), 50 meters from the roman and gothic St-Julien cathedral (VIth to XIVth century). A car park provides easy parking for your car. To the west, the rooms and the garden offer a panoramic view over the whole city of Le Mans at the top of the old Roman ramparts (IIIrd century). Besides the guest rooms, the “Demeure de Laclais” offers a breakfast room, a bar-reception and a flowered terraced garden for your comfort during your stay. The whole house presents calm and comfort within a contemporary and classical environnement taking advantage of authentic and natural materials. The sweet colors make the peacefulness of the place. Our wish is to fully satisfy our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Demeure de Laclais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing