We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful French B&B in Le Mans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos d'Hauteville
Ranked #2 of 24 Le Mans B&B and Inns
Buckhurst Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful French B&B in Le Mans”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Calais to The Charente Maritime.

I had read the trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Bernard and Christiane are absolutely delightful, very warm and welcoming.

We had three rooms and they were all perfect, decorated with beautiful French styling, they have a gorgeous home.

There was also parking, which was great as it kept all of our belongings safe and wifi, as I still had to check emails.

Breakfast was lovely and we really enjoyed looking at all the detail, after breakfast we read the papers in the pretty garden.

Le Mans is a lovely place to visit and in particular we loved the light show that is projected onto the walls in the town at certain times of the year.

We had our three children with us (13, 9 and 4) as well as my father and we all thought it was perfect

Room Tip: We had the large room with on-suite bathroom was brilliant x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our baby. It was perfect. The room was very large so our travel cot was a good distance away from our bed. Modern and clean and a great central location. Secure parking. Good breakfast. Very accommodating and helpful owners. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVScrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Bernard and Christiane are naturally gracious hosts and made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home. Our room was spacious and well-appointed with lovely linens and a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with plenty of hot coffee and a variety of breads, pastries, yogurt and cereals. Christiane even rescued our vacation by finding us rental bikes to ride in the Loire Valley during a week when they were in short supply. And both she and Bernard were kind and patient when we arrived late. Le Clos d'Hauteville is a very appealing alternative to a corporate chain hotel and we recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtersMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My dad sister and I stayed here because we were trying to go see some old cave painting that were about an hour away from Le Mans. We got there and were welcomed by the couple who advised us to the best restaurants and gave us maps of the area. We asked them about car rentals so that we could go see our cave painting and they called for us and set up our car rental and then took us to the car rental place and helped us set up everything! It was so kind of them. Then for breakfast they had a beautiful dining room where we were welcomed with hot coffee and fresh pastries from the local patisseries along with cheeses and yogurts. Such a wonderful couple and the stay was nice and quiet. They speak English very well, so no need to worry if you don't speak French!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Sadly we only spent one night here en route to the southwest, but we couldn't fault it. Bernard and his wife are amazing hosts and the house is gorgeous. Thoroughly enjoyed our wander around the old town and our meal at the restaurant Bernard recommended and booked for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We visited the museum at the 24 hour circuit which was very interesting. Would definitely stay here again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakeford38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband myself and 10 yr old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in August en route to south west France.
It was easier than we expected to get there as we knew there were roadworks and one way systems throughout the town. When we got there, my husband was taken to the garage and we parked the car up for the duration of our stay. The owners could not do enough to help you plan your visit, maps, suggestions, times of illuminations etc, all discussed in the garden over ice cold drinks. It was very very hot but our room was spotless and even cool to sleep in. The room was extremely large, very French, really lovely with large shower room. Breakfast was at first a little daunting as all guests sat round the same table, after 5 mins everyone was chatting about what they had done the previous day and sharing ideas of what else to do, a lovely start to the morning. We only had to walk 5-10 mins to get to the old quarter where there was no shortage of cafe/resturaunts and shops. Ancient cobbled streets and alleyways to explore with loads going on in the evening.
All in all a fantastic start to our holiday, next time we may stop on our return journey and enjoy some more excellent hospitality, they really made you feel special and they were genuinly interested in speaking to you and helping make your stay memorable, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B on 1 night visiting Le Mans. The owners are amazingly friendly and willing to help you out with your plans for visiting the city. They have good tips and make you feel really welcome.The ''old city'' area was a 10 minute walk with restaurants and bars. We could park the car in a private car park at the end of the street, this was perfect.The room we stayed in was ; La Glycyne. The room was very spacious with a nice bed and a big bathroom with good (rain)shower. The breakfast was superb with everything you could wish for. Amazing stay !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#3 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Mans Centre
0.3 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos d'Hauteville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos d'Hauteville

Property: Le Clos d'Hauteville
Address: 2 rue d Hauteville, 72000, Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can explore the Royal Plantagenet City to your heart's content or browse the shopping streets nearby. A welcoming garden where you can relax or beautifully bedrooms appointed offer all the comfort you need. Room price (except special events) is 75 € (for 2 people) + 0,33 € per person for local tax. Price include night and the breakfast. For your lunch and diner, you are very close to the center of town and the "Cite Plantagenet" where you will have a large choice. It will be a pleasure for Ms Duhem to advice you. Services include : Car park an Wifi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos d'Hauteville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing