We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Theatre

The Theatre
Reserve with
The Theatre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hoylake, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A really, really good restaurant. On the first night it was rather busy but we were still found a table. Ordered starters of tomato and mozzarella salad (came with loads more salad and a lovely dressing) and baked camembert (with loads of salad and toasted bread). We then both had a fillet steak, medium as the French always undercook their steaks, and what a steak it was, absolutely gorgeous accompanied by proper homemade chips, grilled tomato and salad. Just about finished it, of course no dessert. The red wine was a good choice. The next time, we had a plate load of langoustines with a garlic mayo dip to share, rather messy to do but tasted lovely. We then had a 1kg rib of beef (to share) again with the chips, salad etc. Again asked for medium but it was a bit rarer than previous but tasted lovely and was tender. The staff at this place all speak very good English and are very friendly and helpful. One of the more popular restaurants in La Baule.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steviebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    322
    123
    63
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big choice, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were spoiled for choice at this restaurant, the Catalan sharing platter was delicious, the seafood looked amazing, carpaccio was succulent and tasty, and the steak looked good too. We couldn't help but each take a cafe gourmand for dessert. In the end the bill was quite high for two (including aperitif and a bottle of white), but we did spend the entire evening on the terrace, well looked after - despite the service being a little slow at times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

An incredible front patio on the best street in LaBaule. Very good place to see and be seen. Nice atmosphere and the food is good too. I had the steak and frites. Good flavor on the steak, although a little tough, but that is pretty normal in France. The frites were really good! Some of the best I have ever had. The sea snails are very good as well. The waiter was from the UK, so English was easy. We have been 3 times, and it was always very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GloStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintes, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“smart restaurant with good food and realistic prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Offered a bit more than the average restaurant with sushi and tapers options although we went for lunch fixed menu at around E17 a head, very pleased with all the choices,both fish and an excellent steak, would prefer to have carafes available rather than by the glass/bottle which is a little pricey. Excellent and charming service. Nice modern deco so a little different from the average bistro. Good position at the bottom of the main shopping street nearest the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulblanc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice dining room, styled and fashioned, serving good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of Rouge is right in the center of La Baule, next to the roundabout which I believe is the centre point of the town.
The dining room is modern and pleasant, so is the atmosphere. However, I found that the service was just okay, with nothing special.
The food was good in particular the fresh fish of the day. I was however disappointed with the dual chocolate fondant, as it was far too sweet and heavy.
So overall, a nice place to go out, but nothing extraordinary when about food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Theatre also viewed

La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
 
La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
 
La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
La-Baule-Escoublac, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to The Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing