We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
260
119
40
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
119
40
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate car parkgolden beachrelais chateauxgreat restaurantla bauleoysterseuros per nightluxurysoulmichelinparkingclassicjune
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 424 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

A superb hotel of period character with lovely grounds opposite the beach. The staff could not be more welcoming. They were helpful suggesting places to visit in the area.
Our room was spacious and well decorated with a large bathroom with bath and separate shower. There is no air conditioning which should be born in mind if booking in the height of summer. The breakfast buffet is noteable for the great variety of foods to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marystmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Directeur général at Le Castel Marie-Louise, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear marystmb

Thank you for choosing Relais Château Castel Marie Louise for your recent stay in La baule, as well as for your positive comment on our services we will share with the teams.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our establishment,

Very cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

This hotel is really 5 * The architecture is stunning and the luxury through out the hotel is first class. Parking in La Baule is challenging - all on street. The Hotel has there own private Car Park which is very convenient but it is expensive at 22 Euros per night! The Staff are very attentive to ensure your stay is first class. I wished we had booked to stay longer. We booked through Brittany Ferries who provided us with a very concessionary rate!

Room Tip: Ideally choose a room with a Sea view although our room was at the side with a small balcony that was not over looked
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMassonneau, Directeur général at Le Castel Marie-Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear Graham D,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Relais & Châteaux Castel Marie-Louise.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at La Baule,

With my Best Regards.

Lionel Massonneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

First time in La Baule so we decided on a Relais & Chateaux property. The hotel was once grand but no longer. Needs a facelift, not up to Relais&Chateaux standards. The restaurant was excellent, staff lovely, grounds beautiful.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mrsgenevievemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMassonneau, Directeur général at Le Castel Marie-Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Dear Mrs. Murphy,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Relais & Châteaux Castel Marie-Louise.

It is a pleasure to hear that you apprieciate our restaurant, staff and the property grounds,

With my Best Regards.

Lionel Massonneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

from the beginning they were overloading us with good service. Put the car away, nice room and they made a place for us for diner (it was full booked). Sitting on the terras with a great diner, nice wines and very good breakfast. there was one bad thing, outside 30 dgr. , but inside also, without any kind of airco!!

Room Tip: room outside the sun, so it will be cooler inside
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wijnartistJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMassonneau, Directeur général at Le Castel Marie-Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear wijnartistJacques,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Relais & Châteaux Castel Marie-Louise.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at La Baule,

With my Best Regards.

Lionel Massonneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The hotel is in need of an update. And we were told that is coming soon. If you are used to stays at other 4 star hotels this one may surprise you by it's aging. Having said that the staff makes up for it. They were amazing, helpful and friendly. Even to us Americans that speak really no French. One word of advice. The hotel has no A/C which may not be an issue much of the time but during our visit La Baule was very warm. As was our room. I was shocked to find no AC but when I expressed my dismay the hotel brought a portable AC unit. While the staff apologized for it not being " aethestic" it sure did the trick and cooled us of at night. All in all the staff makes up for the age issue of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Warner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMassonneau, Directeur général at Le Castel Marie-Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Dear Warner F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us a review.
All the staff is delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Actually our property with park and closed to the beautiful beach is particularly appreciated for pleasant time in la Baule.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

With my Best Regards.

Lionel Massonneau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews