We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooked meals!”

The Old Hospital Cafe
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Huntly
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: European, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Old Hospital Cafe is delighted to be able to offer Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner as well as Devonshire tea and High Tea. These are all STRICTLY BY RESERVATION ONLY
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home cooked meals!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

While staying at Manor Views my wife and I enjoyed a fantastic dinner and breakfast.

The meals are not just reasonably priced they are home cooked and full of flavor!

We had the Roast Lamb and a Lasagna, both were very very good - matched equally by the fantastic views.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This café is a different and unique experience to the normal café. Firstly you need to book well in advance (at least a few hours, preferably more), it is not a drop in place. However, this is one of its advantages. This way they can source local fresh ingredients for your selection. In our 3 1/2 week trip around both North and South Islands, the 2 meals we had here were an highlight and certainly the best food we had.

The food is somehow a cross between a home cooked meal and a restaurant. For us it captured the best of both. My wife especially liked the lamb shanks while I liked both lamb and duck.

The atmosphere was relaxed with the hosts providing excellent service. It is up high and you look out over the town of Huntly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
“Lovely steamed fish”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a beautiful a steamed fish meal with herbed rice! Yummy!! We were fortunate to catch a lovely sunset as we were eating our dinner. Thanks Brent & Joanna for making our evening special

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eating at Manor Views”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fairly plain, but sweet and sunny - windows looking out to the gazebo and beyond to the river. We opted for the basic continental breakfast which was standard. Others had a classy candle-lit dinner there and said the food was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Lovely Meal Lovely Views”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a lovely meal up at The Old Hospital Cafe, with lovely views overlooking the river and the township, and watched the sun go down. Food was lovely, big meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian__1111073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hospital Cafe also viewed

Huntly, Waikato Region
Huntly, Waikato Region
 
Huntly, Waikato Region
Taupiri, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Old Hospital Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing