We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor Views

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manor Views
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
“Hated it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We did not know on booking at the last minute that this was an old hospital. The smell of hospital grade disinfectant was overpowering. Internet payments were extortionate so we went down the road to McDonald's for free Internet . Very DIY renovations. Our room had a view of some old ruins which were described as the gardeners old quarters . On reflection we should have slept in the car at auckland airport

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Did they really stay here? We are sad on the rare occasion that people do not approach us directly about their concerns. The old maternity hospital closed down in 1996, so there has been no hospital grade disinfectant used since then, and the cleaning products we use have either lavendar or citrus smells, specifically chosen because they are not overpowering.Our building is not like a normal hospital, it was very community oriented and we get people through every week that turn up to just reminisce and remember their fond memories here, and book in family functions etc. For that reason we've kept a lot of the historic features that we point out as we give people free tours through. We have a large amount of regular tradespeople staying here for projects in the area, some of which request that room because it is nice and cosy. Every tradesperson we've had here have commented on the superb tradesmanship throughout the building. However they did book the cheapest room in the building, which is obviously not furnished to the same high quality as our luxury suites which have double spa baths and double showers. Our wifi internet is free for emails, and only $5 a day for downloading data and can be used anywhere on the property including the Gazebo or Conservatory overlooking the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
52
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Takapuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We were originally going to arrive very late in the evening and the hosts were very accomodating. Luckily we arrived early in the evening. Even though there were other guests in the hotel we felt as though we were by ourselves. It was nice to have a "tour" of the building and see the photographs on the wall documenting the tranisition from hospital to hotel. I would have given it an excellent rating except for the fact that the spa bath had not been used in a while and when we used it, mossy stuff came out. I simply emptied the tub and started over but it would be nice if it could be run periodically when the room is not is use so guests don't have an unpleasant surprise and have to get out of the comfy tub.
Our room had a selection of dvds available for our viewing pleasure which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for that because we have now put it on our To Do List if not being used for awhile. It's helpful to know so that we can ensure it doesn't happen again. Many thanks for your other kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here recently during the Mystery Creek Field days, Joanna was really helpful although their units for couples were fully booked they offered us their 4 bedroom accomodation at a reduced rate.It was really nice & had everything we needed including a fully equiped kitchen would be an ideal place for couples travelling together.
Thanks again for your help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, hope to see you again next year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The owner met us at the door when we arrive and showed us our room. We were in the standard room with a king bed that divides in half to make two singles. I didn't love the bed because of the seam in the middle.

The view was great. We made good use of the kitchen facilities (having a hot plate in the room was a nice addition) and really enjoying sitting on our deck with the view over the Huntly River.

The hotel was very quiet even though it was full every night we were there.

On the down side, the furnishings were a little tired though that is what makes a standard room and we were travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard one with the couch. I'd look for that when booking as it made our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately because we quite regularly get asked for twin share, we need to have some beds that can split into 2 king singles, hence the seam in the middle. The downside of that is when couples are still cuddly (which sounds like you were) somebody gets the join. The upside is that there is no roll-together and no sleep disturbance with these beds. Next time you stay, request a bed without twin mattresses, such as our standard plus room or one of our honeymoon suites :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose to stay here after a long haul flight from UK and it was perfect. Very peaceful and a lovely room with evening sun on the deck right outside the door. We had prebooked a meal which was delicious and saved us having to get the car out. We had a continental breakfast which was adequate and useful to be able to eat when we wanted as with jet lag you never know when you are going to wake up! We were able to quickly get on our way the next morning refreshed and relaxed.
Our room was quite spacious and well equiped with fridge and basic cooking facilities if needed, however do try Joanne's yummy fish pie and bread and butter pudding.
There is a garden but we did not use it but it does give a feeling of space and open to the lovely views.
The peace and quiet after our flight was wonderful, thankyou.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor and parking is available near your room. We enjoyed the sunset and late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna1030, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, glad you were able to enjoy the peace and quiet here after your long flight. Anyone working shift-work in the area tend to stay with us because we are the quietest place around :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have held 2 conferences and Manor Views and been very impressed with it as a function venue.
The food was excellent, the service friendly and efficient, and the house and grounds are immaculately kept. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna1030, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our conference facilities. It's a great half-way meeting point between Auckland and Hamilton, and our aim is to please all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Came for a night off from life as we know it, and really enjoyed our room. Lovely meal thanks to our super host - and nice to sit outside under the pergola and look at the night time view with a wine. Awesome bath!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna1030, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks very much for your review - yes many of our guests enjoy sitting at the gazebo watching the sun go down! And the double spa baths are lovely to relax in and unwind ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#1 of 3 in Huntly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
24.3 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
15.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.9 mi away
North End Motel
North End Motel
#2 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Views

Property: Manor Views
Address: 24 Upland Road | Waterview Heights, Huntly 3700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manor Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Views "a place to unwind" - we are delighted to be able to offer such a peaceful and relaxing environment for your business hideaway or private getaway. We are only 40mins from Manukau in Auckland and 20mins from The Base in Hamilton. We overlook 3 lakes and the river. Come and rejuvenate and relax in one of our suites which are complete with Double Spa Baths, Double Showers, Big screen TV's, DVD players as well as being self contained. Each of our self contained suites are 4 and a half star rated. Standard rooms also available. We are the gateway to Waikato, Coromandel, Rotorua, Taupo, and Waitomo. We have just applied for our Enviro Award - watch this space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manor Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing