We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating The New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Celebrating The New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just spent a really enjoyable 4 day stay at La Croix Blanche to celebrate the New Year. The dinner on New Years Eve was to 'die for' whilst not cheap ( on this evening you wouldn't expect it to be ) and the selection of local wines accompanying each course were superb

This is not a luxury hotel but our rooms were spacious warm and spotlessly clean. The staff and proprietors were very friendly and attentive.

The only downside was the weather was pretty poor, and on New Year's Day we had expected to do some 'chateau visiting ' but I suppose not surprisingly they were all closed for the day, which did leave us 'scratching our heads' what to do.

This is our 4th visit and we will certainly be returning, hopefully in the summer when all the flowers are in bloom

Michaeu

Room Tip: Some rooms have recently been upgraded - ask for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEPTotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mr and mrs P, we were delighted to have you back again! The New Year's Eve dinner dance is definitely a special event, the French celebrate it in a big way as you have come to understand! Therefore many tourist sites were closed during the day, sorry about that.
We look forward to welcoming you again and show you all the renovation we are making this month. Happy 2014! Christophe & Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
45
205
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ploermel, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

When I imagined the visit to Fontevraud-l'Abbaye I hoped for a pleasant stay at a nice hotel. Well, THIS hotel far exceeded my hopes!!
Charming, with a kind and accommodating staff. Updated throughout and yet still exudes old world ambiance.

Super convenient with lovely meals literally steps from my room. 2 in house restaurants. Boulangerie on the block. And the Abbaye just across the plaza.

My room and bed were bright and fresh with crisp linens. Overlooking a beautifully floral courtyard. Easy to
transport the imagination back to the 12th Century. And in luxurious comfort.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisetteKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear guest LisetteK,
on behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind remarks which motivates us all !
We hope we can welcome youo back some time next year.
Fontevraud has turned into a pretty town with many facilities ! And more to come within the next few months!!
best regards, mc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a quaint part of France. Abbey is just out of the front door making the hotel an excellent place to stay. Rooms were excellent, clean and well laid out. Restaurant and Bistro adjacent to each other with fine food and excellent selection of wine. Staff spoke good english and were very helpful. Worth contacting the hotel direct for reservations,

Room Tip: Contact hotel and discuss. Rooms overlooking the Courtyard were excellent. Stairs to first floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewebacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Indeed all our rooms are different : some with a fairly minimalistic decor, some exhuberant, some with a very colourful decor!
Guests can indicate their preference when they arrive, otherwise don't hesitate to see several rooms. Our restaurant staff have also been informed of you delightful comments, à bientôt !?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a night here while driving north through France to the ferry at Caen. This was the basic room (Ambiance) and did have a rather bare look about it. However, the bed and linens were very good and comfortable as was the shower. We had dinner in the Plantagenet gourmet restaurant (which was very quiet) and again this was extremely good. The dishes were imaginative and very well cooked, though my wife felt that a couple of hers were a bit salty and I thought that both my starter and main course had a star anise flavour - perhaps this is chef's favourite spice or maybe I happened to choose the two that used that spice!
Continental buffet breakfast (at 12.50) seemed a bit expensive, though smoked salmon, ham and salami were on offer.
We were initially a little unhappy at checkout. We had mistakenly thought that we were making food choices that would give us the demi-pension rate (this was hard to find on the website - its on the menu for the Plantagenet restaurant) of +44 euros pppd, but on checkout we found that we should have taken the Croix Blanche menu (25 euros) plus cheese, whereas we had had the four course Formule Découverte des Saveurs at 39 euros. In fact, as I pointed out to the receptionist, the demi-penison rate would appear to be a bit more than the menu plus cheese plus breakfast, but after some discussion, she settled the matter to our satisfaction.
All in all, a very pleasant place to stay when travelling to the ferry ports; we also added it to our list of potentially useful places to stay for a bit longer when visiting the Loire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pethos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for adding our hotel to your list of preferred places !
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a traditional but large room which was nicely furnished, quiet but perhaps lacking some touches like even a box of tissues.
We ate in the Bistro the 1st night, Thursday - excellent and reasonably priced food and wine by the glass. Hardly anyone else in the room though.
Next night, Friday, outside on the restaurant terrace it was packed, food was excellent, service good, if a little slow, and wine again by the glass, but as recommended by the manager for the specific dishes we chose. Very good food and very reasonable given the quality.
Breakfast was good, totally buffet style with an excellent machine for ground coffee.
The staff were all keen to serve us and to help in whatever way they could.
A nice touch was that each member of staff wore a badge showing the languages they spoke, which enabled us to revert to English when our French let us down!
The village is a destination in its own right and we did not have sufficient time to do it justice.
We will visit again.

Room Tip: As the hotel is partly old and partley very new you can choose between classic or modern fixtures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Bonjour from Fontevraud,
Thank you for describing your room and the different types of meals available in our hotel-restaurant. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay, enjoyed the food and wines on offer!
Thank you for the tip about tissues in the bathrooms.
Our latest news: this coming autumn will see huge refurbishments in a new building (so there will be no nuisance to guests during the refurbishment). This will provide a better lay out between kitchen-restaurant, reception, rooms and breakfast area. The current combination of 'modern' and 'classic' will remain in tact.
For the moment it will remain a suprise as far as the decor and style that we will be providing. This will enable us to further improve our quality and service levels. Choice and variety remain high on our list!
We hope that you will be able to discover these improvements yourself soon. Best regards ccmc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September
The rooms and staff were excellent
The Bistro dining was good quality (we did not dine in the main restaurant)
Fontevraud is a lovely little town/village and is easy access to some of the best wine areas in the Loire
Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDRIC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Bonjour, thank you for your five star review which we are very pleased about!
We have shared your compliments with our teamwell as the town hall as they have been the initiator of the beautiful town square with fountain, which adds so much charm and character to the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely hotel with character in the main square right outside the Abbey. Nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Classy rooms. TV and Wi-Fi. Very good breakfast. Quite pricey for France but I felt it was worth the outlay. I ate two meals in the Brasserie restaurant and had contrasting experiences - first night wonderful meal and service; second night I waited too long for service and my main course went astray so I had to give up on the meal. The staff tried to make it up to me with a free drink and dessert but it was really not good enough for this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I do apologise for the delay in my reply.
Thank you for the compliments.
Regarding the delay in service: we have noted this for a while and started creating a new restaurant project since 2012. At latst we have been given planning permission -it's takes a while as we are across from a major monument!-.
As from spring 2014 we will have a new restaurant with the kitchen close-by. This should solve the problem encountered. This renovation work is being carried out while the hotel closes for the winter.
Please see us on your next journey to the Loire Valley and do not hesitate to make yourself known. Best regards, Mieke Chabenat, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
0.2 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.7 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
9.4 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud

Property: Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Address: 7 Place des Plantagenets | Fontevraud l'Abbaye, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the charming UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and interesting tourist sites. Cycle paths of La Loire a Velo and GR3 hiking trail start in the town. One restaurant with two terraces serving bistro cuisine at lunch time; gourmet menu in the evening and for Sunday lunch. Our chef will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. Large selection of Loire Valley wines. Bar-lounge with comfortable club chairs, terrace and fire place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing