We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Nearby Hotels
Fontevraud L'Hotel(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
$156
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine de Mestre(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$91
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bussy(Montsoreau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anne d'Anjou(Saumur)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
183
145
35
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
145
35
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleyconvenient place to staywater supplyhotel courtyardmedieval villagedemi pensionstayed one nightexcellent hotelwi fiunique locationshort breakcycling holidaysuperior roompretty hoteltwo nightsswimming poolgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 389 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Easy to find with good private parking. A warm courteous welcome [in english!] - quickly became part of the hotel family, receiving useful information about this historic Abbey 'village' and surroundings.

Perfect cuisine - wines pricey, but OK by the glass. - but good to sample before searching for them at source by the case to take home!

Wonderful good value continental breakfast in refreshing surroundings.

We had a delightful stay and will return.

Room Tip: We understand the rooms in the main hotel are traditional in decor. We chose a modern suite in the converted historic outbuilding overlooking the quiet courtyard and opposite the main dining room. The breakfast area is off the same courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Trevor G, Thank you for your five star review ! Yes you are right, we have rooms with a modern decor and 3 rooms with a traditional decor. As from this week 4 new rooms are on offer too: superior rooms with a special theme and a beautiful bath room. You can choose from a 'hunting' scene, a French style room, a 'United Kingdom' room, and a room inspired by the local abbey.
We are delighted to read that you bought some of the wines you tried in our restaurant - we are pleased that they lived up to your expectations. A bientôt !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are two sisters who have traveled all over France for many years. Very often we stay in Logis de France hotels and La Croix Blanche is most certainly, one of the most pleasurable we have experienced. The staff is very professional and very accomodating.(and a real plus, most speak English). The hotel itself is lovely with tons of charm but also comfortable and VERY clean. It's was also nice to have their two restaurants available after a long day of driving around the Loire. Their breakfast coffee machine produced a weak brew and without hesitation, the breakfast server went down to the espresso machine in the bar and returned with "real" coffee, all done with a smile. We would highly recommend this logis and would stay there again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear sisters (as we came to know you!),
What's better than guests who really feel 'at home' in a hotel ?!
Your compliments are much appreciated !
Thank you from all the staff at La Croix Blanche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is beautifully located , right accross from L'Abbaye and is warm comfortable and very welcoming . The owners and all the staff were very helpful . The Breakfast room ( and the breakfasts ! ) were a delight. The room was good and comfortable . We ate ih the Plantagenate restaurant for 2 of our 3 nights stay and the food was excellent , imaginative and delicious .

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel .
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martini6175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Gérant at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review which we shared with the team. The chef is delighted that you appreciated his new menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent one night in this logis during our re-visit to that area of France. We were offered a top price room at 140euros, which they reduced to 120euros as it was already evening when we arrived and we were prepared to leave. There were two sparsley furnished rooms. A small sitting room connected by a short flight of steps aqt one corner to a small double bedroom, with a bathroom up the furthest corner of the sitting room. There was a small, very dangerous melomine ramp instead of a step from just outside the bathroom into the fsitting room. Totally unnecessary as it was a room not suitable for wheelchairs. The bathroom was very dirty. There were pubic hairs and yellow dirt round the floor area beside the toilet and the toilet bowl was black with dirt. The floor tiles were cracked. The bath took an age to fill and had tiles missing above the tap area. The large main window between the bathroom and bedroom overlooked the main reception area below but only had a net curtain which meant that at night, with lights on in the room, we were exposed when going between bathroom and bedroom area. Lighting was poor and only one light worked in the sitting area. We ate in the Bistro attached to the logis as there was a private party in the main dining room. Lighting was poor, it was a cold room, music was Frank Sinatra, which was not appropriate but we were informed it could not be changed. Service was surly and poor. Food was good. As this is the only place to stay in this lovely village I would recommend people to stay in Saumour, where choice of accommodation is good , with a visit to l'Abbaye de Fontevraud during the day.

Room Tip: Examine the rooms in detail before accepting.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear mr and mrs C, Obviously the details you mentioned in your review are unacceptable and these have been discussed with housekeeping staff straightaway - we were horrified when we read your review. This is not our usual standard of cleaning and maintenance - many Tripadvisor reviews praise our rooms and the high level of cleaning we are so proud of; you can read these in many of the other reviews.
We are pleased to say that total refurbishment of this room has actually started the day after your stay and will be ready next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the night of New Year's Eve 2012. We were there for just one night. Our room was very nice but a bit basic. The decor was a bit dark and the oak beams added to that (but that's just a personal preference of course). The room was very cold but they did provide a heater when we asked and it did warm up. The heating seemed a bit inadequate for the time of year without it. We had gone primarily for the NYE dinner which we could not fault. The food and the service were very good. The staff attentive and there was a DJ and dancing which was very good. I personally thought that the breakfast was a bit lacklustre at best. Lukewarm coffee provided in vaccuum flasks seemed to smack of not really making an effort to be honest (particulalry in a country that really values good coffee!). There were cold meats and cheese and lovely fresh baguettes with home made jame though which ws very good. It seemed a bit overpriced at 12.50 euros each though. The reception staff were very good and the welcome was great too. Overall a good little hotel but it lacked the little touches that could make it great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for rating us a 'good French hotel'.
One of the advantages of our historic 'independant' hotel:
do not hesitate to ask to see rooms with different decors and colourschemes - all our rooms are different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews