We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, welcoming, perfect”
Review of Auberge St-Maclou

Auberge St-Maclou
Ranked #8 of 655 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, welcoming, perfect”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The desk clerk at the Mercure Rounen recommended the Auberge St-Maclou for dinner. The server was personable and prompt. The food was excellent. On a cold, wet, windy night it was a perfect refuge for two tired, hungry travelers. The dinner was grand, the wine excellent, but the helpful server made the night for us. We would highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleStep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    145
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's all good!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in Rouen for 2 nights and chose this restaurant based on the good reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff, especially the host that evening, were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was delicious- we had the sauteed girondelles (mushrooms) in a white wine sauce, and their version of coquille saint jacques (scallops), over a wonderful rice blend sauteed with leeks and shallots with a light, very tasty piquant red pepper sauce. The desserts were very good, as well. We had a Sancerre and a red bordeaux, well priced and perfect additions to a great meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonio853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having not been able to get into the first restaurant we tried, we took pot luck with St-Maclou and were so glad we did.

The set menu, around 20 euros was superb value, interesting and delicious and in the most pleasant surroundings. The staff were delightful and helpful and after three courses, with wine, our bill was 54 euros.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
1 review
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Le Petite Auberge was full, and this restaurant Auburge Saint Maclon is just a few doors up on the same street.
It was busy and the plat du jour looked lovely............ and it was. We sat outside under parasols, ordered 2 different meals, both were super. In the middle of the meal the heavens opened and we were swiftly re tabled indoors. The decor indoors was fab, clever mix of mediaeval and modern. Great staff, great food, great value - Would go again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Early Supper before Le Tour”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in Rouen for Le Tour De Fance and picked out Auberge Saint Maclou as a possible place for an early supper on our first night of two in the city. We went for a quick beer a few doors down before the restaurant opened at seven. We hadn't eaten much that day so decided to go for three courses - we were glad we had room for the fantastic puddings!! We had a small 'pot' of wine to share (a good Sancerre) which was very reasonable.
We were the first ones in the restaurant but by the time we left there were people taking drinks outside waiting for tables as the place was so full. Great atmosphere, good service and fantastic food - Tuna steak was cooked perfectly and my husband's hot/cold chocolat desert was amazing! Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RozzyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge St-Maclou also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Auberge St-Maclou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing