We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the oldest restaurants in Normandy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Couronne

Restaurant La Couronne
Ranked #20 of 643 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $81
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the oldest restaurants in Normandy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lots of character. We ate in a banquet room upstairs with windows looking out at the church. We had a wonderful meal - everyone enjoyed what they selected. Not one complaint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LALKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    306
    141
    74
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and excellent service in a medieval setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had 'The Impressionists' lunch at La Couronne on 24 December and it was the best meal in all our Christmas holiday. The ambience is so beautiful and relaxed that we lost track of time. Food was delicious; I should mention the beef in particular, which was cooked to perfection. Service was first rate, there was always someone taking care of our every need but without being intrusive. We have promised ourselves to come back for another treat when we are in Rouen again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Visited Christmas Eve, waited 45 minutes before having to ask Management to arrange to take our aperitif order. First food course took 90 minutes from arrival. Grossly understaffed with poorly trained serving staff (to call them waiters would insult their profession). They have gambled their reputation for a fast profit, and lost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pompous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Pompous due to age and history but no foundation. If you like small portions, high cost, arrogant staff and average quality food- feel free to visit this place. I didn't listen local friends and went with my family and regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank batumi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second worst beef in the world”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We dined at the restaurant to celebrate my 76th birthday. We had been there many years ago, and had an enjoyable meal - how things have changed.
We were greeted very warmly and seated at an attractively set out table. From there it went down hill. The service was poor, and the food atrocious.
Our water was straight from the tap, other tables had theirs iced.
An adjacent big spending table received fawning attention having their water glasses topped up, while we had to ask the surly waiters to serve our wine.
We ordered beef, at a 5 euro per person supplement, and less than 50% was edible, and that was tough. We once had slightly worse beef in Cuba, but that was back in Castro's time.
We knew that he restaurant was the most expensive in the area, but we expected good food and service. We got neither.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Couronne also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing