We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a B&B than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ermitage Bouquet
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More like a B&B than a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the Ermitage for one night in early Rouen. I arrived by train in the city. The hotel is a 7 min. walk uphill along a somewhat bumpy sidewalk ( if you are pulling a wheelie case). It is a bit tricky to find at first as the entrance door is through what appears to be the entrance to a parking area. I could not open the hotel door at first ...nor realizing that I have to "buzz" first before the door is unlocked for me.
The registration area is a funny little alcove and the woman working there spoke very little English. She showed me to my room on the top floor ( caution.. no elevator). My room was a lovely cheery dormer room... charming. Nice furnishings. Room faced east so I would get the morning sun through the big dormer window.
There was AC in the room, which I needed to use as it was quite warm in the room. However, I had to get up in the night to turn it off as it worked too well!
The hotel was very very quiet that night. I felt like I was the only one in the building! Strange feeling.
The next morning, when I descended to the breakfast room, there was what I found to be an uncomfortable silence as the guests ate. No one talking... not even at their own tables. Breakfast was adequate... nothing special.
There are no cafes or restaurants nearby ( or at least I could not find any). When I asked the woman at the front desk where to eat, I thought she said (in French)... near the train station. However, there really wasn't much around there. She also did not tell me that I could have ordered a room service dinner from the hotel( I found a card on the desk with a few meal choices after I returned from gathering together some bits and pieces for a picnic back in the room). .Nor did she tell me that there was a sitting room/lounge area with a bar downstairs by the breakfast room .
The next morning, because my room faced east and towards the parking lot area, I was awakened very early by cars starting and doors slamming and people standing outside talking.
I would recommend asking for a room which does not face the parking area if possible.
The room was a reasonable price and was clean and comfortable. It just felt a little strange and not like a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    64
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
83
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Once you realise that waht appears to be a narrow front door is actually a driveway to rear parking and that your car is actully a lot narrower than you think you will appreciate both the off street parking and the relatively short walk to the main sights. The hotel is well appointed as a tourist stopover and with helpful staff , decent breakfast - agood base to tackle Rouen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find arriving by car. Good secure parking, but would be difficult if your car is very large. Room very clean and comfortable. Double glazing kept street noise out. Good quiet air conditioning. Luxurious shower with multiple jets. Good breakfast, especially liked the fresh fruit and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olliff-Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here on way back from South-West France. Once located, the hotel was really comfortable and well maintained. Staff could not be friendlier and the overall service excellent. Rooms were very big with super king-sized bed and room fully air conditioned. Bathrooms included hi-tech shower.

Breakfast is continental style buffet but there was everything you could want available.

Be warned, entrance to the parking is extremely tight but cars appeared very safe behind hotel.

Recommended and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, 2 rooms (2 teenagers), to explore Rouen, and the surrounding area.
Hotel about 3 mins walk to the central train station, about 5-10 mins walk to centre of city. Nice safe area. Cafes for breakfast (hotel breakfast at E14 too expensive!) within 5 mins walk.
Clean, very friendly staff - made us welcome and very helpful - rooms very clean, bathroom very clean, rooms were big/spacious, with everything we needed (safe, extra pillows, blanket, fridge). Would recommend this hotel - it has a bit of personality/style!

Room Tip: we had rooms 15 & 17 which looked out on the street - it was not a very buzy street, but you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed for three nights. On arrival we were greeted by a wonderful young man whose name I didn't get, but he spoke good English and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and cool. We had changed hotels as the one we originally booked had a number of reviews criticising the air conditioning. We went out for dinner but on our return the rooms were like ovens and it turned out the air conditioning had stopped working. There was a different person on the desk and he really wasn't that interested. His only suggestion was to open the windows. Both our rooms were on the street side and very noisy. My room was on the ground floor and so I didn't feel safe opening the window so we both spent a terrible night, very hot. The next morning there was yet another person on the desk, an older man than his predecessors. He couldn't have been more helpful. He told us he would move us to other rooms on the car park side and what is more upgraded us to suites! Seemingly the car park side of the hotel has air conditioning that works on a different system so if you stay in this hotel and the weather is warm request this side of the building. Once we moved rooms we couldn't have had a better stay. The hotel is pretty basic but very close to the rail station (we were travelling by train quite a bit) and not too far from the old centre of Rouen. Breakfast at the hotel was extra but pleasant and with a good choice.

Room Tip: Car park side and not ground floor. The street side is noisy and on the ground floor you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moraig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Located in a beautiful townhouse with parking facilities (only smaller cars can fit through the gate though). Easy to find.
Excellent breakfast, friendly staff. About 15min walk to downtown. Free WiFi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylvalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#18 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ermitage Bouquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage Bouquet

Property: Hotel Ermitage Bouquet
Address: 58 rue Bouquet, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ermitage Bouquet 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes' walk from the station and the historical center of Rouen. This 19th century mansion can satisfy the businessmen (air-conditioning, WI-FI), as well as the tourists who can leave their car to walk the old part of the town or drive easily to the Roman abbeys after a gorgeous breakfast dedicated to the products of Normandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ermitage Bouquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing