We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem of a find”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice big room, clean and welcoming, with tall double door windows onto a quiet street. Very central for shops, with a cafe bar 2 doors along for tea and Affligen. Helpful, friendly owner, even boiled the kettle to fill our flask twice for us. Bed was seriously comfy, excellent shower, french tv channels. Very close to parking, Zara, all shops on your doorstep. Dog friendly, although make sure you find the park to take your dog to in the morning: it's a 4 minute walk, but well hidden. Rouen doesn't really do grassy patches. Will definitely choose this hotel again when we visit Rouen - lovely and interesting city.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the street, with large windows (with rails), and was quiet. If you can park out fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShagratBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Charming best describes it. Small with nicely renovated rooms, great breakfast with homemade products, central, not too loud outside at night etc.

Would go there again, especially as they promised to make WiFi also work in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel des Carmes is well located in a quite pedestrian only street with nice views over a typical french street scene through the large windows in our apartment.
We arrived a little before 4pm only to find that the hotel didn't open until 4. Wasn't a problem as it gave us time to unwind and have a coffee at a cafe on the square next door to the hotel.
Owner arrived punctually at 4pm, apologising for having us wait.
The room was good, plenty of room for us to organise ourselves for our two day stay and the bathroom with bath! was very functional.
Our only real problem was with the free wifi. It only allowed one person at a time access. We did not need to use it a lot but it was inconvenient to have to wait for your turn.
Owner was particularly friendly and of great assistance with our many queries. His recommendation for dinner was perfect.
Perfect hotel for our needs, good, functional and friendly. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent two nights at this friendly hotel. The Owner greeted us warmly and made us feel right at home. The room was comfortable and the location was good for exploring Rouen on foot. Nice restaurants near by. We explored Normandy for a couple of days before moving on. The wife of the owner has her paintings and sculptures decorating the loby. Breakfast, extra cost, was very nice and the coffee was great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. Not noisy at all. I guess all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

First of all.....its impossible to drive to.....the GPS will just take you round in circles. If you look on Street View and see cars.....don't be deceived they have special permission to be there.

There room was tired in the extreme.....the wallpaper in the room....I had to look twice....it looked like the paper had been torn off the walls but that was the rather odd design. Scruffy finish to the room but bed and bathroom were clean. People walking around outside making a racket until 4am then at 6am the street cleaning machine starts.

Yes it is in a good position for the old town.....but I would not describe the manager I saw as "friendly" he was just doing his job - did not go out of his way at all.

Parking.....this IS an issue ! I strongly suggest you park at the open Square carpark at the junction of Rue Armand Carrell and Rue d' Amiens and walk straight up Rue d'Amiens and Rue de la Chaine which then leads into the street where you will find the hotel which is actually just around the corner from Rue des Carmes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The room we stayed in is not located in hotel building, but across the street, in an old building.
It is on first floor ( no elevator ) facing a square.
Room is completely new, spacious and comfortable. There is a couch, a queen bed, separate toilet, flat screen TV, and spacious walk-inn shower. Efficient blackout curtains.
There is no parking next to hotel, but there is a public underground parking in a close square where it is possible to park for 11 Euro per 24 hours. Visiting Rouen by foot we didn't need our car, so that was a good solution for us.
We were surprised how quite the room was, facing a crowded until late square.
Breakfast is served at hotel for additional 8 Euro per person.
We enjoyed staying there and found it excellently located in Rouen, close to everything, walking distance to all sites.
The owner is the person at front desk and is the breakfast server as well.
Pay attention to 2 beautiful paintings behind his desk, showing a painter's tools and colors, his wife painted them. The owner is a very nice, attentive and pleasant person, willing to help.

Room Tip: The rooms across the street are the new ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllKnowMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Hotel des Carmes has a great location in Rouen. It is very central in the tourist part of the town, located on a pedestrian street near a square. So the location is sort of charming as well as the feel of the hotel, it has an old French feel to it. Cleanliness was OK, it didn't feel unclean it is just old. The oldness was sort of nice as they obviously take care of the place; it is not worn-out or run-down. Rooms were a good size and the bathroom was OK.
No elevator and no offer of help to bring the bags up to the room. I am OK for this but I advise to keep this in mind if stairs are an issue for you.
We didn't have the breakfast but sort of wished that we had. We went out to find something instead and were not so impressed. I'm sure the hotel's breakfast would have been nice, relaxing and convenient.
All in all the hotel is a very good price and above acceptable standards. I just wasn't so impressed with Rouen as the city felt on the verge of being run-down. We only stayed one night and were happy with Hotel des Carmes for this purpose.
Driving and parking in Rouen was also not so easy. Quite confusing, so we parked about a 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. Easier to walk than to drive.
By the way we did find an excellent restaurant in Rouen called Le Pascaline (5 Rue de la Poterne).

Room Tip: No Elevator, make request appropriately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#14 of 52 in Rouen
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#13 of 52 in Rouen
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 52 in Rouen
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#28 of 52 in Rouen
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#26 of 52 in Rouen
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alive Hotel de Quebec
Alive Hotel de Quebec
#29 of 52 in Rouen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Address: 33 Place des Carmes, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: $74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing