We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay near Rouen”
Review of Le Clos Jouvenet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos Jouvenet
Ranked #4 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay near Rouen”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A wonderful place to stay with beautiful views and fabulous hosts. Nothing was too much problem and they seemed genuinely happy to share their house. Catherine spoke good English, and German I believe. The rooms were so stylish, boutique style. They had everything you could want, fresh linen every day, tea and coffee facilities and a plentiful breakfast. We were given a key to come and go as we please. The place is situated about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Rouen where there are plenty of places to eat. Catherine will give you a map and explain how to get from A to B and also to recommend good places to eat. You are welcome to sit in the beautiful garden on her sun loungers or at her garden table, they seemed to be fine if you were around in the daytime, although we were generally out between 10.30 to 4pm. Highly recommended, I am sure it will be difficult to find accommodation better than this with such wonderful hosts!

Room Tip: our group had two rooms and each had a good sized separate shower and toilet. Only one of our rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
124
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a beautiful and elegant house in a quiet peaceful part of Rouen. The walk to the centre of town is easy and pleasant enough through quiet streets (rather than along busy roads.) Really wonderful breakfast and very useful information about local places to eat. (Try the one which specialises in lamb dishes which was a real treat and which we would never have come across without Catherine's advice)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jac000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Le Clos Jouvenet is an elegant, exquisitely decorated house, set in a delightful, spacious walled garden with mature trees. Such was the tranquillity, it was difficult to imagine the bustle of a vibrant city only minutes walking away.

Our room “Le Verger” was tastefully decorated; quiet, light and with a large window opening on to the garden. The bed was large and very comfortable with high quality linen. Sleep was easy. The en suite was spacious, with a shower and a bath and shelves piled high with sumptuous towels.

Catherine de Witte was very welcoming and caring of her guests. She went to considerable lengths to look after us.
Breakfast was served in the sunny conservatory looking out onto the tranquil garden. The fresh pastries, homemade jams and great coffee all conspired to make a great start to each day.
Rouen is a beautiful city- very old with exquisite architecture. Walking is very easy, with good shopping - so much to see and do. Rouen is an ideal hub from which to visit most of Normandy.
We would certainly go back to Le Clos Jouvent and would enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David and Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Catherine made us welcome as soon as we arrived. We sat in her superb garden with a glass of local cider while she gave us a map of Rouen and explained all the places we could visit, realy useful information. The house and rooms were so elegant and comfortable, I wish I had the style to furnish my rooms like they were! The breakfasts were wonderful a selection of french 'breads', fresh orange, fruit, home made jams and superb coffee served in the conservatory overlooking the immaculate garden.
As we were on a motorbike the secure parking and how near it was to walk into Rouen was an added bonus.
Catherine was a perfect hostess and we would recomend that if you are visiting Rouen you stay in this wondeful house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lin050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Previously we've stayed in central Rouen, and left the car in a public car park a short walk away. This chambre d'hôte is the perfect alternative. The car stays on the (enclosed) property, and the town centre is only a comparatively short walk away. Catherine is charming, and the house very elegant. Our room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. We appreciated that breakfast was not quite identical on the two mornings we were there.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all as lovely as the one we were in - take your pick based on the photos on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After reading glowing reviews here, we eagerly booked this superb B&B. Lost in Rouenin a pouring rain, we called for directions...and were rescued by our host who drove down to lead us to our lodging. Not only was his welcomed terrific, but so was the warm greeting of his wife, Catherine de Witte, who expressed a care, concern and friendliness was sustained throughout our stay.

We were equallly delighted to find a home away from home, a place my wife said, "I'd be prepared to liove in permanently". The lovely building, on groomed lawns and gardens if furnished tastefully anbd comfortably, as was our room overlooking the city. I was especially taken with the cozy reading room off the staircase, with computer access, and my wife loved the bright breakfast room, savoring the morning's ebbing sunlight. We share a lovely breakfast.

Howver, our memory will be of the elegant and charming hosts, the comfortable and clean accommodations, and the generous accurate advice provided to all of us appreciative guests. The Clos Jouvenet is now our benchmark against which to measure all successive hostelries which we shall visit.

Room Tip: Ask Catherine to describe the indivdually named rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Simply this is one of the best B & B establishments we have ever stayed in. The greeting on arrival is informative and friendly, the information imparted is relevant ( including the list of restaurants marked on a map). The breakfast is terrific, the room spacious and the whole house impeccably furnished. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom well appointed. Catherine has achieved near perfection and we would thoroughly recommend you pay her a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#16 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Jouvenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Jouvenet

Property: Le Clos Jouvenet
Address: 42 rue Hyacinthe Langlois, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heaven of peace a few minutes from the Cathedral of Rouen. Four elegant rooms in a nineteenth century town house set in a delightful garden amidst tranquil surroundings. Parking on the grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Clos Jouvenet Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing