We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location friendly owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location friendly owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Bonaparte for 2 nights early May 2014. We found the rooms clean and generally well presented. Our travelling companions had a room overlooking the street that had been recently redecorated. It was spacious and wells equipped. Ours was overlooking a small courtyard and was a bit smaller.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. We didn't have breakfast there, preferring to buy a croissant from one of the nearby artisan bakers. Rouen is a lovely town with plenty of eateries of all varieties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street rather then internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    80
    54
    14
    12
See reviews for
33
87
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The room was very cosy, with lovely soft pillows and all the bathroom toiletries anyone could require. A lot of thought and effort has gone into the refurbishment of the rooms, but a bit more simplicity in the wallpaper, tiling and decoration might have been better. Room quite dark and inadequate lighting. Breakfast is extra but it is delicious and varied. Parkig is extra as well, but well worth it in such a central area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is very nice, quiet and comfortable ! Easy to access, not really expensive and the service was very good. The atmosphere is warm even if the wallpaper is not very well stuck! I forgot my toothbrush and luckily there was one in the bathroom!



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is cosy and our room was clean and basic. We paid around 65e for the night which I think was quite a lot for this room. There are car parking spaces available (remember to pre-book since there are only 7 spots) and it is a tight squeeze for a car with a steep ramp.
Hosts were helpful and friendly. Our room was located in the 2nd floor and although it was facing towards the road it was very quiet (good triple glazing).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank incaannica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location to visit Rouen
Friendly staff
Clean and comfortable room - a bit small but that is fair given the very low price
Wifi is free but tended to disconnect often on an iPad
Breakfast a bit expensive

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padegrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a little treasure of a place. The new owners are working hard to update and redecorate this bijou residence with a certain je ne sais quoi. Whilst the rooms might be a little on the small side they are clean, well kept with very comfortable beds and very large pillows! The lady owner is very friendly and helpful, recommending local restaurants and other useful information and the underground car park for a small charge was reasonable. Make sure you stay in the hotel bar for pre-evening drinks and you'll be treated to a tray of nibbles from the kitchen. The breakfast was a real unexpected treat with a wide array of cereal, fruit, cakes, cheese, cold meats, freshly boiled eggs, waffles, pancake and accompanying condiments galore, all washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice and a range of variety of hot drinks to suit all tastes - the best continental breakfast we've ever seen!

Room Tip: Twin double rooms may be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catarmaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Look this is not a 5* experience. It is a typically quirky French hotel in a somewhat faded glory status. It is clean enough and the rooms we had were had all the facilities working.

It is however in a good location. The Hotel de Ville is 100 metres away and the old town is on your doorstop with access to a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants.

We stayed for 1 night on our way back to Calais and find it an enjoyable stopover.

You can drive your car up to the front door and the hotel has an interesting underground car park: not for the faint hearted or for a large car!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS1049747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#18 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 3 rue Jean Lecanuet, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bonaparte 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versan Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing