We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job but nothing to write home about - with Car Park”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Enjoyed our stay - central location, easy to wander round Rouen from here. Room was tidy but very very basic, bed was comfortable with clean bed linen and towels. Bathroom clean but in need of brightening up. Car park below hotel tricky to get into - space for c.a. six cars. Would not fit a large car - our Astra went in OK.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColnClar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 220 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

We were given a family room on the top (5th) floor. This floor made a shabby appearance (broken window, loose paint everywhere).

The room was not maintained well. Paint fell of the windows and there was a hole in the bathroom door (!) which had not been fixed. My guess is that the rooms on the other floors could be better.

Service was poor. Our booking was for 2 adults and 2 children but we got 2 towels. We asked for 2 extra towels, but these were still not there later in the night.

All this could be acceptable if the price was modest, but we paid 85 euro's, which is not cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed for one night. In room 41 on the 4th floor. Either hot or noisy, the traffic sounds like its in the room with the window open. Dirty floor in the shower room, badly maintained equipment. Breakfast sparse at best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was the dirtiest, most gross place I have ever spent a night in. The carpet was stained and filthy, the bedspread looked like it had been YEARS since a cleaning, and I was literally afraid to touch anything. My BF said it looked like they had just taken the yellow police tape off the room's door. The hallway was dark and dingy, and what you see in the awful lobby held true for our floor's hallway and for our room.

Like the room wasn't bad enough, there was nowhere in front of the hotel to park even to just unload luggage, and I got a parking ticket (35e) for the 10 mins it took us to drop off our stuff and get the heck out of that horrible, dirty room. The one good point was that a delightful front desk person did her best to help with persuading the cops to not give us a ticket (to no avail), and she was very sweet and helpful. Unfortunately, she works in a disgusting dive.

We had reserved 2 nights, but once we saw the place's interior, we stayed out late, spent the minumum time in there, touched nothing with our bare skin, and checked out as early as possible the next morning. Unless you are desperate, this should NOT be considered. it was the worst room I've ever been in my life, and I'm a well traveled 50-year old. The website photos flatter it way beyond reality.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LBTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night. Staff were friendly and did speak a bit of English. The location is good, just by St Ouen Cathedral. The hotel is quite dark and could do with a makeover. Shower isn't great and I'd no blind curtains. Fairly priced though. Would suit someone who just wanted a roof over their head for the night. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulou7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dom988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.2 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#28 of 52 in Rouen
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 3 rue Jean Lecanuet, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: $56 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bonaparte 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versan Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing