We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, bags of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Morand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Morand
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, bags of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found the place very comfortable, the breakfast pleasant and plentiful and the staff friendly. The room wasn't especially modern, but had lots of character and a pleasant street view. The location is very central but also fairly quiet, on a side street, and the town is very pretty and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    132
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
47
126
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice, simple old-fashioned hotel that offers a central location and good value. Pleasant, clean rooms with no horrible air conditioning to ruin your night's sleep and friendly staff - job done!

Perfect for a short stay in Rouen and right next to the fantastic Musée des Beaux-Arts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were a mother and son travelling together . This was the perfect place for us close to the train station and the sites . The staff at reception were warm and welcoming . Breakfast was lovely in the breakfast /sitting area! My only complaint was a musty smell in room but I think it was the smell of old wood from the antiques .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentsonvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Bentsonvie,
First Of All ,thanks so much for that review. I see precisely who you are .i remember these 2 charming women .
I am sure the musty smell did not disturb your stay. It's indeed a little smell , the wood one.
This building is a renovated coaching inn , moreover an old post relay from the 17th century !
That could explain to other travellers your remark .
It will be a pleasure to host you again , thanks one more time !
To conclude , always book on our official website and like us on social networks we will offer you between 10 an 40% discount if you help us with direct bookings !
Moreover, you can find here , on trip advisor a promo code "morand76" which gives you 15% all year long and more on our official website!
My name is Thomas , i own this property , why don't you call me directly to book your stay ?
Please note my Direct Line : +332 35 71 46 07
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited Rouen in December 13 and while staying at this adorable hotel we got engaged! So needless to say we love the place. It's full of character and quirks. It has a fantastic location too. I would recommend to anyone! We will defiantly be back in the future!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaguarW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear JaguarW,
First Of All ,thanks so much for that review. I see precisely who you are .i remember these 2 fantastic lovers .
It was a shared pleasure and you know it as well !
It will be a pleasure to host you again , thanks one more time !
To conclude , always book on our official website and like us on social networks we will offer you between 10 an 35% discount if you help us with direct bookings !
Moreover, you can find here , on trip advisor a promo code "morand76" which gives you 15% all year long and more on our official website!
My name is Thomas , i own this property , why don't you call me directly to book your stay ?
Please note my Direct Line : +332 35 71 46 07
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The best value for money, and not much money, BUT the real value of this hotel is the service, specialy of the owner/manager who help and good advice on any matter are valuble.
The hotel 2 min from train, BEST position you can get in Rouen.
Rooms old fashion decoration, nice and the most important CLEAN.
HIGHLY recommended after our ~2weeks stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank yairschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear yairschwartz ,

First Of All ,thanks so much for that review. You know it i see precisely who you are .
It was a shared pleasure and all your family know it as well !
It will be a pleasure to host you again , thanks one more time !
To conclude , always book on our official website and like us on social networks we will offer you between 10 an 35% discount if you help us with direct bookings !
Moreover, you can find here , on trip advisor a promo code "morand76" which gives you 15% all year long and more on our official website!
My name is Thomas , i own this property , why don't you call me directly to book your stay ?
Please note my Direct Line : +332 35 71 46 07
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Brilliant little hotel, close to the heart of the city. Staff very helpful
on arrival, and parking was close by, either on the street on in the underground
Car park. Hotel very old & characterful, but at the same time warm & cosy.
Breakfast in small dining area was the usual continental offering, but nicely served.
All in all very good value if you don't like big chain hotels.

Room Tip: There is no lift if you can't do stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mary B,

WOW is the first word that comes to mind when I read your review. I sincerely thank you on behalf of all the team for the very special attention you had for each member of the font desk staff.

I am very grateful that you took the time to write such a nice review. It really was a pleasure to have you and your husband for such a short etape before driving to dordogne .


You have all my details so do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any help.

Like Mary B , book on our official website and redeem the cheapest offers ! Like / join us on social networks and get between 10 to 35% discount all year long ! Only on our official website or call me directly , i am Thomas the owner , why don't you book with me directly :

Please find my direct line : +332 35 71 46 07

I look forward to welcoming you back soon or for another special occasion!

Best Regards to you and your husband.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This very well situated establishment offers spotlessly clean, pleasant rooms at a very affordable price. It is a stone's throw from the majestic looking train station and within comfortable walking distance to the lovely Cathedral and old town centre. There is a hospitality tray which is most welcome on a cold autumnal evening. The bathroom is small but perfectly formed, i. e. modern, functional, with good hot water and also a hair dryer. Breakfast is quite acceptable, with fresh crunchy baguette, croissant and some processed cheese. My only quibble is the lack of net curtains in the room which means you cannot get any privacy without drawing the heavy curtains and switching the lights on. So all in all a convenient inexpensive place where I will be coming back to explore the city further.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear vic_ok,
Thanks for leaving us this Great feedback.
I see precisely who you are and i want to thank your sincerity but almost your objectivity concerning this review.
You told to travellers the simple truth : A good value for money ! yes , it's what we are here ....
Concerning your remark towards our curtains , i want to precise to other travellers that we do not have a problem of intimity here due to the fact that it's a very quiet area and they are no more neighboors here and moreover all our rooms are equiped with blackout curtains ( allowed in 2 star classification ) . However , i know that a veil curtain could be a good improvment that's why i will think about it ! thanks for your remark ! that's also Trip advisor's purpose : help us to improve our level services again and again !
It will be a pleasure to host you again , thanks one more time !
To conclude , always book on our official website and like us on social networks we will offer you between 10 an 35% discount if you help us with direct bookings !
My name is Thomas , i own this property , why don't you call me directly to book your stay ?
Please note my Direct Line : +332 35 71 46 07
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#18 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.2 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morand

Property: Hotel Morand
Address: 1 rue Morand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morand 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morand is close to the train station, to the Fine Arts Museum, and it takes 5 minutes by walk to get to the city center! Our building is from the 17th century. What we propose is our 17 rooms renovated with a typical atmosphere of Normandy! We propose you the best offers and very cheap prices for all kind ! As if you are a groupe, half board, meetings, seminars, a family, a couple, or a student! For your information it is a no smoking hotel! Our advantages : on the top of our offers, we propose you also many services! A Wifi access, parking discounts with the underground parking "L'Espace du Palais" close to the hotel, discounts with our restaurant partnership "Le Rive Droite" with typical French meals. Also, a Norman loudge is available for you all day long! Also there are no elevators in the hotel and rooms are not soundproofed! Book directly and get the best prices! Use our promotional code "morand76" to get the best offer for all year long! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Morand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morand Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing