We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine, a real hotel in a medieval town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Morand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Morand
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Genuine, a real hotel in a medieval town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you like to stay in characterless, sterile, modern hotels then the Morand is not for you. This hotel reflects the character of medieval Rouen - the spiral wooden stairs are ancient and beautiful, carpets are old and the floorboards creak and the views (from my 3rd floor room) are over the rooftops of Rouen - I love the 'Frenchness' of it all. Despite this the matresses are firm with crisp bedsheets, the showers are aged but work very well, and the staff are so helpful.

Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    132
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
46
126
44
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a special memorable experience then this hotel is prob not for you. However, it has everything you need in a French budget hotel - great location, clean, fairly quiet and occupies a lovely old building. Yes its not flash and the building makes the odd sound, but its nothing too loud or disturbing. We found our one night stay, v pleasant and wld reccomend to a friend. Also if u arrive late you can steal a free parking space from outside the hotel if u plan to leave by 9.30 the next morning. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamski122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of September.
What we liked:
It is very conveniently situated for wandering round the city, 5 minutes walk to the Beaux Artes, the Ceramic and the Ironmongery Museums/Galleries
The staff are really friendly and helpful.
The room was spotless and cleaned and tidied every day.
The bed was really comfortable - and I'm fussy.
There were plenty of towels.
Our room, no.12, on the top floor was really quiet, it had excellent double glazing.
It's on a quiet side street.
It has links with a great restaurant, where they gave us a lovely aperitif on the house and 10% off the bill - three courses and wine for less than 60euros.
The breakfast, while basic, is plentiful.
What some people might find less than perfect, though we didn't mind:
Access to the rooms on three floors is up a fabulous spiral staircase, that slopes ( it's old). I don't think there is disabled access.
There's no lift (but there was a strong young man on reception!)
The room floor sloped and the doors have gaps.
The loo is in it's own little room in the corner and it also sloped, which could catch you unawares!
Parking is interesting: on the street, overnight is free, day is metered. There is an underground car park ( 11 euros for 24 hours with a card from the hotel) only one street away.

The only thing we would criticise was that although there was a kettle, there was not much in the way of beverages, and only tiny plastic cups.
All in all, it was fantastic value, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked room 12, but don't have any idea about the rest. It's an old hotel, you might be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

this hotel was briliant, right in the center of the town but still quiet enough. it was close to everything within the town and was full of friendly staff that were very helpful accommodating by bicycle! I was visiting from England at the time and it felt like home from home with the clean comfy rooms and pleasant atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hidden gem with its brilliant staff and lovely interior.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

For the price of this hotel, it is a great find. Really central with a lovely friendly, knowlegable welcome. It's dated, but if you don't mind that then it's fine.

The only issue we had during our stay on Saturday night was a noisy club or party somewhere in the neighbourhood that went on until the small hours. I don't imagine that this is a regular occurence though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week with my daughter. Although the bed was not that comfortable it was close to the station, we had excellent service and it was convenient. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a basic, no fuss hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the center of Rouen, only a few minutes walk away from the main attractions and restaurants.

There is a car park only a short walk away and the hotel offers a good discount in here.

The welcome was very friendly and helpful and we were supplied with a map of Rouen by him.

The price is very reasonable for the central location. The hotel was full of character with a lovely lounge area and a spiral staircase. The rooms were basic and in need of some TLC, with some creaky floorboards in places. But the room was clean, comfy and had an ensuite bathroom.

Breakfast cost an extra 7.5 euro but was good.

Overall this was a very good hotel and I would not think twice about staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Nemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morand

Property: Hotel Morand
Address: 1 rue Morand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morand 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morand is close to the train station, to the Fine Arts Museum, and it takes 5 minutes by walk to get to the city center! Our building is from the 17th century. What we propose is our 17 rooms renovated with a typical atmosphere of Normandy! We propose you the best offers and very cheap prices for all kind ! As if you are a groupe, half board, meetings, seminars, a family, a couple, or a student! For your information it is a no smoking hotel! Our advantages : on the top of our offers, we propose you also many services! A Wifi access, parking discounts with the underground parking "L'Espace du Palais" close to the hotel, discounts with our restaurant partnership "Le Rive Droite" with typical French meals. Also, a Norman loudge is available for you all day long! Also there are no elevators in the hotel and rooms are not soundproofed! Book directly and get the best prices! Use our promotional code "morand76" to get the best offer for all year long! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Morand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morand Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing