We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with excellent service just near the station.”
Review of Hotel Morand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Morand
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with excellent service just near the station.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week with my daughter. Although the bed was not that comfortable it was close to the station, we had excellent service and it was convenient. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a basic, no fuss hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    134
    62
    21
    7
See reviews for
48
128
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the center of Rouen, only a few minutes walk away from the main attractions and restaurants.

There is a car park only a short walk away and the hotel offers a good discount in here.

The welcome was very friendly and helpful and we were supplied with a map of Rouen by him.

The price is very reasonable for the central location. The hotel was full of character with a lovely lounge area and a spiral staircase. The rooms were basic and in need of some TLC, with some creaky floorboards in places. But the room was clean, comfy and had an ensuite bathroom.

Breakfast cost an extra 7.5 euro but was good.

Overall this was a very good hotel and I would not think twice about staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Nemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were not impressed with the worn-looking lobby, but the welcome was warm. The room was adequate, with a small bathroom and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was quite nice, served in a charming room with a fireplace for 7.5 euro. It was not far from the center of town, and we ate at an Italian restaurant (quite good), near the Church of St. Joan of Arc (can't remember the name).
This hotel is not for everyone, but for a total of 64 euro/night, it more than met our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Some may love its old world rustic traditional French charm but my opinion is that the place is a train wreck. Toilet pan was not bolted down, doors made of plywood central light not working sink plug stuck in,no hot water, fixtures and fittings hanging off the wall it was nightmare.

Room Tip: We had room 11 try any other or leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla, España
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Le Morand Hotel is an inexpensive hotel close to the Rouen train station as well as to the city center. It is next to the FIne arts museum.
The hotel is not for picky people. The room was clean but the carpet was stained. The bathroom was old yet clean and the water was hot. The bed was comfortable but the room smelled a bit stuffy. The hotel was quiet. The staff were very friendly. The room cost 64 € / night.
I would recommend it for people who aren't bothered by the lack of well maintained installations but it isn't for people who want a recently renovated hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesinSeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Big comfortable bed, but tiny cubicle bathroom. Fascinating house close to the beautiful town centre and restaurants. Thomas on reception speaks impeccable English and is incredibly helpful. We paid £43.92 for two people. See what you get for that in the UK! I am astonished at complaints of lack of lifts at this price. Also you are staying in a 500 year old Tudor style wooden house. You don't get lifts in those. If you can't climb stairs go to modern hotel and pay £100. The breakfast may seem pricey a €7.50 (£6) per person but Costa Coffee and Starbucks will charge you about £5 for the same coffee and croissant. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was served by the invaluable Thomas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved this hotel. Its set in the centre of Rouen. The rooms were surprising and interesting, but light and airy. Great sized bathroom. The rooms have period wallpaper and furnishings, but it is a period property and it all goes together well- except the flat screen TVs - which was a welcome addition.

The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. Parking was right outside if needed and they have a deal with the local underground car park.

City centre location - good value - and quiet at night. Great choice in Rouen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOMAS L, Propriétaire at Hotel Morand, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sir ,
I really want to thank your sincerity and almost your objectivity concerning your review.
When i read that kind of review , i feel glad to read that our customers enjoyed their stay in our establishment.
Our Hotel is modest but it's also an authentic place with charm and a lot of history.
It would be pretentious to say that our hotel is perfect, However ,I am proud to provide a charming atmosphere combined with a correct facilities Quality.
Of course , Our hotel could be quite noisy if the neighbours are impolite ....
Of Course ,Our Hotel "have period wallpaper and furnishings" but "it is a period property and it all goes together well" . That's a good summary, Thanks
All our marketing strategy is based on transparency: our customers are noticed on all web pages that our hotel is :
-An Old Post Relay from 17th century ! (which implies several caracteristics concerning the floors , the walls and the noise and the fact that there is no lift)
- A 2 stars Hotel (**INN) with a new approvment in april 2012. ( which implies that an official audition has been made by authorized professionnals . On the other Hand , this point means that a 3/4/5 Star hotel has an other range of services and some customers should keep in mind that 64€ for a double room in the heart of Rouen could not be a luxuary room! That's Why some double rooms are 300€ more and even in Rouen.....Same topic concerning a 7.50€ breakfast and 15 euro...

At least I really want to thank you again for your review which will motivate me and my Staff to pursue our efforts.
Of Course , It will be a pleasure to see you again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#18 of 51 in Rouen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morand

Property: Hotel Morand
Address: 1 rue Morand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Morand 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morand is close to the train station, to the Fine Arts Museum, and it takes 5 minutes by walk to get to the city center! Our building is from the 17th century. What we propose is our 17 rooms renovated with a typical atmosphere of Normandy! We propose you the best offers and very cheap prices for all kind ! As if you are a groupe, half board, meetings, seminars, a family, a couple, or a student! For your information it is a no smoking hotel! Our advantages : on the top of our offers, we propose you also many services! A Wifi access, parking discounts with the underground parking "L'Espace du Palais" close to the hotel, discounts with our restaurant partnership "Le Rive Droite" with typical French meals. Also, a Norman loudge is available for you all day long! Also there are no elevators in the hotel and rooms are not soundproofed! Book directly and get the best prices! Use our promotional code "morand76" to get the best offer for all year long! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Morand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morand Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing