We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel (no pun intended!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Berteliere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Berteliere
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Leicester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel (no pun intended!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice hotel......very nice room and everything very modern.

Two things to comment on.
1. Probably much better as an overnight base if you are travelling south....Rouen os not the easiest French town to drive around and we stayed on our return to Calais and it took a while to get to the hotel.
2. Book a table in the restaurant.....they do a lot of functions and there are no close alternatives....we were very very lucky....other couples had to drive/get a taxi into town which is probably not what you want if you have driven 8 hours as we had done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidTLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    142
    91
    56
    26
See reviews for
47
255
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here one night en route for Calais. It was a great find. The room was spotless, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Dinner was superb. This hotel is in a pretty village near Rouen and not far from the motorway. I can recommend it totally.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyebo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere miles from Rouen, stayed with a party of 27 from the Waterside area of Hampshire, next morning people complaining of showers hanging of the walls, sinks that wouldn't flush away, sinks that wouldn't hold water, one man repaired his toilet at 3am in the morning, Oh it gets better the hot breakfast was stone cold, when mention they looked at the food and walk away,and done nothing about it , as if they didn't care , they had a toaster, there was 2 days when there wasn't any bread. I should state there was bread rolls. No lift so if your eldery this is not the place for you, carrying your own bags up the stairs. The hotel was clean , and very quiet, the staff seem ok.I was told the hotel had change hands and maybe thats the reason why it was below par. When Rouen is such a beautiful city I see no reason for staying at this hotel. the most redeaming feature of this hotel was the exit sign. I would suggest they take the word quality from there sign , until it is

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scillybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Knaresborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Well located hotel on outskirts of Rouen.

Bit pricy for what you get. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryhillmagyar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel cost us £40 total for bed and breakfast. The room was spacious, light & with a great view. Had a big TV & an ipod charging dock. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful & the breakfast was amazing. We used it as a stop off on the way further South, so I can't really comment on the location, as that wasn't important to us. There are only 2 floors, so although there is no lift, it's easy to ask for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisimoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We arrived by coach on 22 July 2011. Had to walk our cases along path to hotel. No lift in Hotel. Reception appeared to be uninterested. Asked if someone could take my suitacase upstairs, which they did. Room was superb-looking out on the gadens. But there was no mat to put in bottom of bath, and no rab rail for support getting over the ther high bath to access the shower. As I am in my 80's, this was a bit hazardous. Asked for a non-slip mat to put in bath, but they didn't have one - told me to use the stepping-out mat, which I did. Towels and flannels were replaced every day. Bedding was spotless.Hospitality tray refreshed every day.Breakfast was reasonable, but evening meal was 'peculiar'. We were given no Menu to choose from.Cant say it was good because is wasn't.Non English speaking waiters made conact rather difficult.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hioneylMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wevelgem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Nice hotel in a quiet and green environment. Friendly reception, a clean room with good beds, very quiet at night, excellent breakfast but AVOID THE RESTAURANT!!
We took the second shift at 21.45h (!?) and ordered our drinks and food 20 minutes later. Our "aperitives" arrived 25 minutes later after having asked again (got a typical french direct answer "that's the way we work here...), all came very slow (also for the other guests), anyway, we ended our meal at half past midnight !!! and above all, the food was real bad quality and overpriced!
So, a good hotel but go elsewhere to eat.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BaMi1045516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
3.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Berteliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Berteliere

Property: La Berteliere
Address: 1641 Avenue Mesnil Gremichon | St Martin du Vivier, 76160, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Berteliere 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualys Hotel La Berteliere is located in a peaceful garden setting just 5 minutes from Rouen city centre. It offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. Rooms are comfortable and equipped with flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, work desk and modern en suite facilities. The hotel offers 24 hour reception, a bar and a quality restaurant. A full buffet breakfast is served daily.Quality Hotel La Berteliere offers a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Berteliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rouen
Best Western Hotel Rouen
Rouen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing