We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little out of date” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rouen Saint Sever

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rouen Saint Sever
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Waalwijk, Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little out of date”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

In the suburbian town "Saint Sever" near Rouen the St. Sever is located. The building is a kind of 70's architectural design and also the restaurant and corridor's are dated. The rooms are redecorated en refurnished and so are the bathrooms. However corrodated piping shows the real age of the hotel. Nice detail is the boat-like round window in the bathroom. Rooms ar clean and staff is friendly. We've had a special offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    62
    95
    44
    13
See reviews for
25
84
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

For the price paid and considering the location, this place is gold.. A double room was plenty big enough for us (2 adults and a 18 month old) and though the bathroom was a little cramped, it had a good shower and everything you need. Location is literally 10 minutes from the town centre.

Parking: As you see the google map, the hotel is on the east of the shopping centre, the parking is on the west side. We just left the car in a road nearby to the hotel, walked around and checked in then got directions to the car park and I went and parked and then got a DIRECT lift form the car park into the hotel. And the price is E4.50 each time you leave the car park so if you don't use the car for three days, you only pay E4.50.

The only bad thing we experienced here was the coach parties coming and going in the early morning and being noisy but hey, they are there for the same reason you are: cheap and good access to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_T_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

When we booked we didn't realise the Armada was on and it proved hard to find a room. We were a little relieved to find somewhere and the Saint Sever is in a reasonable location. Albeit one which shuts very early in the evening.

Unfortunately the Saint Sever is not a very good hotel but still massively increased it's prices for the Armada and it did not deliver the appropriate standard for that price. Maybe as a cheaper option at other times the hotel might not seem such bad value for money.

Rooms are very small and beds are too narrow and not especially comfortable. I found trying it difficult to sleep in old fashioned sheets and blankets and with a terrible pillow.

The real Fawlty Towers' comedy item was the bathroom. The shower is controlled from the sink giving an excellent opportunity for flooding and making it hard to adjust the temperature. The real highlight though was the toilet - tucked in the corner of a very small bathroom and making a morning crap quite a challenge for anyone of above average dimensions.

Breakfast is extra and didn't look worth the money so we didn't bother.

Normally there are a lot of rooms in Rouen so use this as a last resort.

Room Tip: For a good swimming pool ask for one of the rooms where the shower is controlled from the sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niort, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Rouen during the Armada so I guess the price was bumbed up for that period. I think it was way overpriced. The rooms were tiny, the single beds very narrow, certainly not even 3ft. The bathroom was tiny and a bit grotty. Cleanliness was just ok.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, I thought, was a bit overpriced also at €9. Breakfast was served until 9.30 and as we lingered having a chat after our breakfast we were asked to leave the restaurant area about 9.45 as breakfast was over.
The best thing about this hotel was that it had free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMH1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We wanted a hotel near a friend's apartment, the location was good, but the rooms were too small to unpack. The hotel was clean, had a nice restaurant and convenient location next to a busy mall and shopping area with attached parking. However, our room was very small, the bathroom claustrophobic and with shabby fixtures (broken chrome). Staff were polite, cleaned thoroughly, bed was a good quality mattress and quite comfortable. Two people for three nights was bearable but we would look elsewhere next time. A few service glitches but overall attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel has elevators but some rooms were in a wing which required stairs (very accommodating abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were booked into his hotel for the last week, forty of us by a Tour Operator who specializes in arranging tours for choirs etc. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even more so. There is precious little room for hanging clothes and the hangers are unreliable. We were informed that the bar and food would be available every evening until 10.30pm. Not so. It was not open on Saturday, Sunday and Monday of the week we were there. The Reception staff were very good and helpful but they are very short of staff and, on occasions, one member of staff was running the bar and reception and answering the phone. My advice would be that, if you are staying any longer than one or two nights, don't stay at this hotel. It was clean and linen was changed every day. Big advantage is, I suppose, is that it must be very cheap and convenient for the Rouen Metro system

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a very good hotel to stay in to see the sights of Rouen.
You can have breakfast in the hotel we didn't as around the hotel there are some great patisseries where we bought croissants etc. Note if you stay on a sunday as part of your break the only places we found open were in the main square off the theatre de arts tramway station.
If you are arriving by car strongly suggest you park in the st sever shopping centre car park brown area no. 39 as there is access to the hotel from the car park via a secure entrance/lift.
In the centre there is a great place to eat la chalet next to the cinema 4 people around 60E.
Go through the centre to the tramway and buy a ticket 1.50e travel away from the city then back to the gare verte. great trip the tickets are 'live' for 1 hour so see as much as you can.
To park the car in the centre the hotel will give you a pass to exit 4.50e this is each time so if you leave the car there for 2 days as we did we only paid 4.50e to park great deal.

Room Tip: park the car and use the tram 1.50e and car park 4.50e brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzzista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#22 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#21 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rouen Saint Sever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rouen Saint Sever

Property: Hotel Rouen Saint Sever
Address: 20 Place Saint Sever, 76100, Rouen, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel)
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rouen Saint Sever 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rouen Saint Sever reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Sever Hotel Rouen
Saint Sever Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing