We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house - hidden in plain view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambres d'Hotes La Maison
Ranked #1 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely house - hidden in plain view”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a lovely, quirky, friendly and refined welcome after over 500 miles of driving from the South of France. Sadly we only has one night here - but would leap at the chance to stay again, or stay longer. Entering through the gate was like entering a different world. A beautiful garden leading up to a lovely mid-19thC house.

Franck was such a welcoming - and amusing - host. The offer of cider (and beer) after our long journey was something I snapped up, while Franck provided a map of the city and explained access (metro stop c. 150 metres away) and restaurant options. He also phoned through a reservation for us. The city centre is less than 10mins by metro tram.

The room was impeccably and tastefully furnished, and the bed large and comfortable.

Breakfast was extensive and delicious - with warm local bread, tasty croissants and a fine array of jams, as well as fruit salad, cereal, cheese and tea/coffee.

I am looking forward to a stopover here the next time we come to France.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
83
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our 11 years old daughter in the suite Digue, which was very large and beautifully decorated. The outstanding breakfast was served in the charming garden of the house, a little piece of heaven.
We would like to thank particularly Franck and Martine for their warm welcome and there useful advices and addresses for the visit of the beautiful and picturesque city of Rouen.
We hope to come back one day to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowers056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

La Maison
Places like this are what make us love France. A little piece of heaven in a bustling city. A beautiful home in a magnificent garden that the hosts are delighted to share with you. We will make a point of a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here on the way back from a week in France to break up the journey - and what a delightful break it was. Although a little hard to find - once the black gates open you are in what can only be described as paradise. The gardens are beautifully maintained by Franc and his wife and as for the interior of the house (designed by Francs daughter) - stunning is an understatement! The rooms were decorated beautifully, spacious with modern bathrooms.

What makes this place is Franc and his wife. The welcome we received was as if we were friends coming to stay for the weekend. He presented us with tea and cakes around the table in the beautiful garden, he then gave us a map of Rouen and told us all the spots to visit - including some great lunch and dinner recommendations! This was the followed by a lovely traditional french breakfast the next morning - which i would happily eat every day! The hospitality was amazing and i will definitely be back to visit!

Thank you again Franc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Franck et Martine were the most wonderful hosts. The only reason I would hold back on the superlatives ... is so not to encourage too many people to discover this gem ... we want to be able to get a room next time we stay ;o)

Room Tip: Were given a guided tour - they all looked outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpablett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

On an unprepossessing ring road full of office blocks and parked cars, La Maison is a hidden gem. Behind a high metal gate is a mature garden and a beautiful house with high ceilings and great charm The owner, Franck Fontaine made us feel very welcome and took great care to explain which restaurants he recommended and how best to get there. Our room was contemporary, minimalist but with everything we needed and the bathroom looked like it came from the pages of an up market interior design magazine. Despite being in the city it was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was served at a large table filled with quirky crockery and lots of delicious jams, coffee and fruit.
Parking is off the road and Franck took the trouble to cover our car so that it was protected from bird mess.
We really took to Rouen and were lucky enough to see the Armada 2013 which is a gathering of tall ships during our stay.

Room Tip: The whole house is exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here on our way to the Dordogne and cannot speak highly enough of this bed and breakfast.
After a longish journey, we were welcomed with tea and tonnes of information about Rouen. The room was fantastic, secure parking and our host Frank was perfect. He was unobtrusive, but there if we needed anything. Breakfast was superb and it was great to meet some fellow guests too...
We walked in to Rouen (about 20 mins) but there is a tram as well.
Recommended this place 100%.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
1.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
1.3 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres d'Hotes La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes La Maison

Property: Chambres d'Hotes La Maison
Address: 82 Boulevard de l'Europe, 76100, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in Rouen.Welcoming you : an idea, friends and family to make it possible.Work or tourism, come and relax in one of the comfortable rooms of the house.You will also enjoy the wonderfull garden.The house has 3 large bedrooms, all renovated with great care by an interior designer. It’ possible to accomodate two additional people with an independent annexe room.TV and Wifi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chambres d'Hotes La Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing