We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great short stay in Rouen” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great short stay in Rouen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is superb, situated right in the market area of the old town centre. A variety of restaurants are just a stone's throw from the hotel, from pub-style to fancy French cuisine. A 10 minute walk from the train station.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, and as expected in Europe, tight for size. The beds and dark room colours provided a good night's sleep. Unfortunately the darker colours left the place seeming pretty drab during the day and I needed a flashlight to get a decent look inside my suitcase. We stayed for 6 nights….a stay of 1 or 2 nights would have been more suited for this hotel, or at least the room we stayed in. There was no A/C in the room (not a problem for us as nights were cool), but there was a large window that opened wide.

Staff were very responsive and service was impeccable. We did not have the breakfast as there were so many restaurants nearby (including a well stocked grocery store) and it appeared to be overpriced based on other in-hotel breakfasts we have had in Europe. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but they did have 24hr bar (no food).

Room Tip: Based on proximity to the market area, a room overlooking the parking area/courtyard would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    159
    86
    40
    18
See reviews for
51
198
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed four nights here. The location is fantastic, within easy walking of all the old part of Rouen, and the room was clean with decent décor, although a little on the small side. Luckily we had some shower gel as the dispenser was broken and no other toiletries were provided. The towels were a bit small and thin. So not at all bad but lacking in the touches which make guests feel really welcome. The breakfast would no doubt suit most people, there was good fresh bread, cakes, sugary cereals, an excellent selection of jams , decent yogurt, slightly runny scrambled eggs and some alarming looking sausages.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leicestermancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked the hotel for 2 nights and asked for a privilege room. We were travelling with our 4 year old daughter. In an attempt to be accommodating (I guess) the reception gave us a family room (without telling is about it) for which we were charged the full "privilege room rate" as opposed to the "family room" rate.

We wouldn't have minded so much if:

- We got what we paid for (e.g. a decently supplied minibar, paying channels that worked and a clean room).

- The bathroom was clean and safe. I cut my foot in the bathroom - no idea how. Possibly a sharp edge on the cabinet. You can take a shower in there but the bathroom really aren't very clean and would benefit from refitting,

- The room was generally very dark and did not look well cleaned.

Icing on the cake:

We ask reception for the missing services and asked if they would either fix the problem or offer some kind of compensation. (Problems duly reported each day). Nothing was done and when checking out, we are to pay for services we did not use (ah! there were some breakfasts!!! - No there weren't, thank you very much.) and when asking - for the last time - what compensation would be offered for the missing services, the truth came out:

- Ah, but you were in a family room. Therefore there were no access to these services.
- Oh? But we paid for a privilege room. There is quite a difference in price.
- No, in fact it was a family-privilege room.
- Really, so why did we not get the services we paid for. What will you do about it?
- Euufff -- Je sais pas (I don't know, with the typical can't-be-bothered-face).

Conclusion. If you don't mind paying an extra 50 Euros+ (rooms were 280 Euros for two nights) for less services than agreed and a somewhat dirty and dated hotel, go for it!

Otherwise, your money is much better spent at the Bourgtheroulde nearby.

Shame though as good location and staff generally nice.

Don't think we will go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le-Broker-de-Londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here end of May 2014 as part of a tour group . The hotel is well situated, clean with helpful staff.However it needs a major face lift. It looks dowdy, mismatched in style and lacks a clear identity. Has one very tiny lift to serve all floors. The bedroom we had was odd shaped, painted a disgusting brown with very poor storage. The bathroom was ok but really needed replacing. Breakfast is a very basic affair, is completely self service and feels like you are sitting on cheap plastic garden chairs. Croissants, jam and coffee were good but really would expect something more than this in a Best Western. WiFi is free but intermittent! TV had a very limited range of channels which seems very old fashioned in today's age of digital TV.Overall it was just adequate but really should be a lot better for a prime city centre location. As we were out most of the time we coped but if you had to spend any time in the brown bedroom you would be very depressed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I'm granting some latitude, based on the fact that the place is being renovated, but about the only thing this hotel has going for it is its situation in the old city. It's an easy walk to shopping, cafes, the market and several historic sites but access is lousy - groups must walk about three blocks from the nearest bus parking and individual car parking is a coin-toss. It rained while we were there and the access to the main entrance stood at least two inches deep in water. There is one lift that can accommodate four people, at most. Bulbs were out in our room lamps and outlets were falling out of the wall.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor; you'll probably have to walk up most of the time - and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comunikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The HOTEL left a lot to be desired. The rooms looked as though they were decorated in the 1970s. They were not so much small as badly designed. There was good hanging space but Dark room with no drawer space; only a shelf which small people would not have been able to reach. I don't know where you are supposed to put your underwear and bits and pieces.

Although we requested a double we had two single beds pushed together. There was only one bedside table for the two of us. There was insufficient lighting; and everything was dark brown apart from the curtains, which were red and a nasty cheap material. The breakfast was good but basic. The location was great and the staff were pleasant. There was one lift which looked like a service left built in the 1960s.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Address: 33 rue du Vieux Palais, 76000, Rouen, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Du Vieux Marche)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, ideally located in the historic center of Rouen, close to the place du Vieux- Marché, the literary hotel, Gustave Flaubert, pays tribute to the writer in the city where he was born and where he spent the major part of his life. Modernity and comfort, punctuated by a few literary notes, provide the guests the time to dream or read. Just 10 minutes from the cathedral Notre Dame of Rouen, the Hotel Gustave Flaubert shares with us his passion for the author of Madame Bovary and Salammbô. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rouen
Best Western Rouen
Rouen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing