We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Nearby Hotels
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morand(Rouen)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars(Rouen)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Gourmandine(Rouen)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$447
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
107
203
101
48
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
203
101
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar liftjoan of arcpiedu vieuxold townpedestrian zonesmall bar areasmall itemssmall fangain accessparking is limitedbit confusedexcellent locationmain squareshower gela great nights sleepfour star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 478 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was part of a coach party doing a tour of Normandy. The hotel provided us with an ideal location. in the heart of the old market area and within a few minutes walk from the cathedral. My room was clean and well-appointed; it even had coffee and tea making facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast choice was excellent. It is the first hotel on the continent where I could enjoy toast and marmalade!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Brian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is very well placed. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. We were able to use the hotel parking which was also useful. Rouen was a very nice city and the stay at the hotel did not detract our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SimLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Phoned ahead and spoke to the hotel to advise a latish arrival after a long journey. On arrival after ignoring the sat nav that got completely lost as the hotel is stuck down a side street which is off a side stree there was no car parking and little advice as to where to best park. Room was to small, over hot and dark. The towels were thin, there was very little storage and the in-room coffe/tea/milk look as though it had been rationed. A pity as the hotel is conveniently lovated for most of Rouen's site. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for four nights on a package holiday. Room very small and poky - and this was supposed to be a "confort" room which cost an extra €10 a night. No air-con, so room was stiflingly hot when we arrived. Everything in the room smacked of corner cutting - cheap, thin towels, cheap toilet paper, no drawers and only 1 small shelf for storing clothes, no wardrobe - just an area behind a curtain with a rail, no safety deposit box in room, no UK language service on TV, all of which are facilities one would have expected when the room price was advertised at €220 a night (plus 30 for breakfast). In fairness, the location was superb, centrally sited with numerous bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk and the breakfast was adequate enough, but the hotel as a whole needed a facelift.
We've stayed in far better hotels for less than half the price of the Vieux Marche, and had we been paying the full price we would have been extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BumblyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here with my aunt for a two night visit to Rouen. We liked the idea of being right in the centre of the town and not needing the car once we were there. As suggested by an email form Best Western I put the post code 76000 into my SatNav. On arrival at Rouen, this started to lead us into a bewildering maze of bus lanes, one ways and pedestrian areas and wanted to take us places we clearly could not go. I looked in the Hotels list in the Points of Interest on my Tom Tom and whist there was no Best Western Hotel du Vieux Marché, the Hotel du Vieux Marché was listed so I went to that. This took us to the road with the bollard at the edge of the pedestrian area as described. You press the Appel button on the intercom post and after some beeping, the bollard lowers.

Drive carefully into the street beyond the bollard. You are now in the pedestrian area and it can be very crowded with people who are reluctant to get out of the way. There are also lots of pavement cafés with tables, chairs and signs out in the road. There is a pedestrian entrance to the hotel about 100m down on the right which has directions to the hotel car park, but is very easy to miss. Basically take the first right and the entrance is an gateway with buildings above about 100m down on the right hand side just past a café. The café can have tables and chairs etc. out in the roads so if you have a big car, you may have to do a few manoeuvres to get into the entrance.

Once you go in it opens out into a court yard with parking spaces. There is also an underground park, but its vehicle lift wasn't working so we couldn't use it. You leave your car key as reception and there is a €4 a night charge for parking which was okay, but we didn't know about until we checked out.

Check in was easy and the receptionist was friendly as were all the staff. We started in French, but she had good English. All the staff were friendly and helpful, but not all spoke English (and why should they?) so get that phrase book out. All French people seem to appreciate you giving French a go however much you mangle it and are often far more helpful to you than when you just shout at them in English.

We were in Rooms 401 and 402 on the forth floor. The rooms were clean, but a bit dark and cramped. There is very little in the way of storage space. Just a wardrobe with a pull across curtain. The curtain in my room had seen better days and had finger marks from hand cream, sun cream or paint on it.

In both rooms, the windows open inwards and nothing really stops you jumping out and falling to the courtyard below. In 401 the window partly covers the TV when it is open and could damage it if it was blown inwards by the wind.
It was very hot whilst we were there and the rooms have no air conditioning. Even with the window open it was uncomfortable.

The showers in both rooms had seen better days and both could do with some maintenance.
The breakfast was okay. Not worth the €15, but I suspect you would have paid as much in a café and it was convenient. The staff also let us freeze the ice bricks for our cool box in the kitchen freezer.

The hotel Wi-Fi worked well and had good coverage. The TV was good, but only one English Channel (BBC World). You’re not there to watch TV anyway.

Rouen itself is a great place to go visit, but stay in the old town. It’s a bit seedy and run down outside of it. Okay in the daytime and the old town seemed safe enough at night, but not so sure about the surrounding areas, especially by the river.

The hotel is okay, but needs some maintenance.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 401 as it is really small and the Window blocks the TV. Rooms 402-404 aren't much better. I imagine the rooms underneath and above are the same. They do have better and bigger rooms and on the 5th floor they have balconies
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews