We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for four nights on a package holiday. Room very small and poky - and this was supposed to be a "confort" room which cost an extra €10 a night. No air-con, so room was stiflingly hot when we arrived. Everything in the room smacked of corner cutting - cheap, thin towels, cheap toilet paper, no drawers and only 1 small shelf for storing clothes, no wardrobe - just an area behind a curtain with a rail, no safety deposit box in room, no UK language service on TV, all of which are facilities one would have expected when the room price was advertised at €220 a night (plus 30 for breakfast). In fairness, the location was superb, centrally sited with numerous bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk and the breakfast was adequate enough, but the hotel as a whole needed a facelift.
We've stayed in far better hotels for less than half the price of the Vieux Marche, and had we been paying the full price we would have been extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BumblyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    159
    86
    40
    18
See reviews for
51
198
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here with my aunt for a two night visit to Rouen. We liked the idea of being right in the centre of the town and not needing the car once we were there. As suggested by an email form Best Western I put the post code 76000 into my SatNav. On arrival at Rouen, this started to lead us into a bewildering maze of bus lanes, one ways and pedestrian areas and wanted to take us places we clearly could not go. I looked in the Hotels list in the Points of Interest on my Tom Tom and whist there was no Best Western Hotel du Vieux Marché, the Hotel du Vieux Marché was listed so I went to that. This took us to the road with the bollard at the edge of the pedestrian area as described. You press the Appel button on the intercom post and after some beeping, the bollard lowers.

Drive carefully into the street beyond the bollard. You are now in the pedestrian area and it can be very crowded with people who are reluctant to get out of the way. There are also lots of pavement cafés with tables, chairs and signs out in the road. There is a pedestrian entrance to the hotel about 100m down on the right which has directions to the hotel car park, but is very easy to miss. Basically take the first right and the entrance is an gateway with buildings above about 100m down on the right hand side just past a café. The café can have tables and chairs etc. out in the roads so if you have a big car, you may have to do a few manoeuvres to get into the entrance.

Once you go in it opens out into a court yard with parking spaces. There is also an underground park, but its vehicle lift wasn't working so we couldn't use it. You leave your car key as reception and there is a €4 a night charge for parking which was okay, but we didn't know about until we checked out.

Check in was easy and the receptionist was friendly as were all the staff. We started in French, but she had good English. All the staff were friendly and helpful, but not all spoke English (and why should they?) so get that phrase book out. All French people seem to appreciate you giving French a go however much you mangle it and are often far more helpful to you than when you just shout at them in English.

We were in Rooms 401 and 402 on the forth floor. The rooms were clean, but a bit dark and cramped. There is very little in the way of storage space. Just a wardrobe with a pull across curtain. The curtain in my room had seen better days and had finger marks from hand cream, sun cream or paint on it.

In both rooms, the windows open inwards and nothing really stops you jumping out and falling to the courtyard below. In 401 the window partly covers the TV when it is open and could damage it if it was blown inwards by the wind.
It was very hot whilst we were there and the rooms have no air conditioning. Even with the window open it was uncomfortable.

The showers in both rooms had seen better days and both could do with some maintenance.
The breakfast was okay. Not worth the €15, but I suspect you would have paid as much in a café and it was convenient. The staff also let us freeze the ice bricks for our cool box in the kitchen freezer.

The hotel Wi-Fi worked well and had good coverage. The TV was good, but only one English Channel (BBC World). You’re not there to watch TV anyway.

Rouen itself is a great place to go visit, but stay in the old town. It’s a bit seedy and run down outside of it. Okay in the daytime and the old town seemed safe enough at night, but not so sure about the surrounding areas, especially by the river.

The hotel is okay, but needs some maintenance.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 401 as it is really small and the Window blocks the TV. Rooms 402-404 aren't much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rouen is a must stay town. There is so much to see and do. I would stay here at this Best Western again. It is in a central location with the best restaurants right outside the door. The Room was big for France, with a seperate sitting area.
Was not air conditioned, but had windows and a fan that gave enough air. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dem6806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prior to our arrival, on request we were sent details of how to access the hotel, staff very helpful ,room pleasant and clean,good choice at breakfast .Well situated for sight seeing and restaurants, parking limited but we were lucky to get a space and leave the car for the whole of our stay
We found the number of beggars a bit off putting particularly at the doors of the churches otherwise a very pleasant stay.Would use the hotel again .

Room Tip: Booked a comfort room but got a good deal for 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nothing spectacular except the location of Best Western. The breakfast was solid each morning. Our bedroom was very clean and tiny but warm. It's very central for visiting Cathedral and Joan of Arc area is just steps away too. The shopping in the area is decent, we needed more warm clothes and found some values nearby. Enjoyed a few restaurants in the area too. Find Le pechere for Seafood!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Kisco, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

One night stay. VERY warm and friendly staff both days; room was nice and clean and everything worked well (TV, heat, converters, etc.). Bathroom was VERY clean and modern. The location is fantastic. The hotel lobby is inviting, the morning breakfast is convenient and delicious. The city is a great place to visit- much less crowded than Paris and a nice way-station to or from Normandy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We love the Best Western Hotel chain and generally find them to be of good value. However, we were very disappointed in this particular property. Room had all the basics-king bed, desk, chair, TV, but had a spartan, industrial look--no charm at all. Plus the bathroom was not very clean. Room had no air conditioning and was very hot that night, so we opened the window and drapes for air. However, there was a spotlight shining from the ground up to the roof over our window which lit up our room like daytime, until the spotlight finally went off around midnight. Worse, our room was a corner, and with the drapes open, we could see into our neighbor's room, and vice versa! They must have been hot too and also had the drapes open. Not a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you are considering staying here, check to see if they have air conditioned rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#17 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Address: 33 rue du Vieux Palais, 76000, Rouen, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Du Vieux Marche)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, ideally located in the historic center of Rouen, close to the place du Vieux- Marché, the literary hotel, Gustave Flaubert, pays tribute to the writer in the city where he was born and where he spent the major part of his life. Modernity and comfort, punctuated by a few literary notes, provide the guests the time to dream or read. Just 10 minutes from the cathedral Notre Dame of Rouen, the Hotel Gustave Flaubert shares with us his passion for the author of Madame Bovary and Salammbô. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rouen
Best Western Rouen
Rouen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing