We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A value option in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Dandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Dandy
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A value option in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is located at a good spot. It is close to the main boulevard, while it is on a pedestrian street so it is calm. The cathedral and city center are at a 10 min walk. It is a small and old building. The furnitures are also of traditional french style. The rooms and furniture are old but they are clean and well-maintained The breakfast offer is quite narrow.
Overall, I think it is a good choice considering the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    37
    15
    8
See reviews for
28
70
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Only able to stay for one night...our first night in France. I would have liked to stay longer, both for the hotel and the town, both of which I enjoyed. Hotel was very nice with some nice classic and unique touches. We stayed in one of the recently remodeled rooms. The staff, both the gentleman who was there most of the time, as well as the young lady who checked us in, were great, and very helpful and kind. The hotel is located in one of the older historic parts of Rouen, according to the gentleman. The area appeared a bit aged, but information about its historic location explained it. The location was convenient to town...5 minutes to central square; 10 minutes to Cathedral. The parking is a bit of a challenge, as in any older town. But it was easily handled and the front desk personnel were helpful. I would definitely stay again. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Request a recently remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We enjoyed what was our second stay in the Dandy. This hotel is good value for money and a great situation in the centre of town. Staff are helpful and polite and the rooms clean with quaint Louis XV decor.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank infinite__owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in Rouen. Car parking is restricted but the hotel does provide spaces for a small charge. Our room was good, decor is a little tired but that just adds to the whole 'French Chic' experience. The staff are outstanding and could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel is located in a pedestrian area. Car access is restricted. Hotel has some parking spaces but they are limited and need to be booked in advanced. These parking spaces are very small for a regular SW car. I would recommend parking in public parking in old Market, just 300 m away from the hotel.
There are several restaurants/pubs nearby.

I stayed in 2 periods in this hotel. In the first night I couldn't access internet from the room in the 1st floor. The room was clean and simple. But there is a Pub just besides the hotel and the people stayed in the street until late night talking loud and laughing.

In the second time I was given a room in the attic of a annex. Room had a bad smell, no access to Internet and no shower. I have complained and they moved me to another room in the second floor. This time the room was ok. The only problem was when taking a shower the bathroom always got flooded.

Breakfast is very simple (at least it is already included in the rate).

Reception closes at 9PM. You receives a code to open the external door.

In case of any urgent request you can call at mobile of Vicent. He is very solicitous..

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel Le Dandy is a lovely building in the pedestrian area of Rouen. It has on site parking available for a small extra charge which is well worth it as it is underground and secure. The owner is a very helpful chap who assisted us through the confusing access, only a temporary arrangement due to roadworks. The rooms are a reasonable size and very clean. The bathrooms are again reasonable and clean. Hotel Dandy's best feature however is it's location right in the heart of the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgetig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location, very cosy. XVIII century building, adapted. Staff was very gentil. You can book the parking. Very charming room, nice space, very clean. Breakfast was very good, with local cheeses. The elevator is very tiny and the furniture is antique. Very nice taste, but if you look for modern confort, maybe this is not the place. Very nice view with double windows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philrossetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#22 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#11 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#10 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Rouen Centre
Kyriad Rouen Centre
#42 of 51 in Rouen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Dandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dandy

Property: Hotel Le Dandy
Address: 93 rue Cauchoise, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Dandy 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Le Dandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dandy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing