We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest Hotel in a Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Le Dandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Dandy
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Modest Hotel in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Vincent, the proprietor, was a charming host on our recent visit. He is a young, hard-working hotelier and offers extremely cost-effective accommodations in this small, family-run hotel. The location is perfect for touring the old town of Rouen and there are plenty of restaurants in all price ranges nearby. We parked at the hotel which we found convenient. There was a charge, but that is understandable in the middle of a large city. The rooms are gradually being renovated and we found ours to be perfectly acceptable in this price range. Free wifi was a plus. The breakfast was very complete and the service was excellent. We heard Vincent speaking English to other guests and it was very polished. All in all, it would be hard to beat the value of Hotel Dandy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfreedca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
73
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were happy with our (one night) stay at the Dandy. It is easy to find, although getting the car to the front door involved contacting them to lower the access barrier. We parked overnight in the public car park (80 meters away in the Market Sq.) and that was fine. It is a typical small city centre French hotel, so be prepared for compact rooms and a telephone box sized lift. However everything worked, including breakfast and internet.

Those in our party with a room the front said it was a little noisy - nothing dramatic, just people chatting at cafes across the street. The street itself is absolutely fine and loads of nice restaurants within 2-3 minutes walk.

All in all we thought it good value and would stay again - at least for a short stopover.

Room Tip: A bit quieter at the back. Don't bother trying to book into their car park; public car park in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We recently had a reservation at Hotel Dandy, made through Booking.com (a wonderful site for making hotel reservations!) When oue travel plans changed and we needed to cancel our reservation within the "48 hours" prior to the arrival date, we thought we would go and speak to the manager just incase he was willing to NOT bill us the full amount for our unused room. Our reservation was for a Monday night. We went to the hotel on the Sunday night to see the manager but found the door locked. We tried the outside buzzer but no one came. When we returned Monday morning and finally spoke to the manager he told us that the lobby is CLOSED on Sunday evenings and for a few hours Sunday afternoons. He said this information was printed on our hotel confirmation form. Once we returned home I reviewed the form and found this to not be true. No where could I find any info about the hotel being "closed" during any hours. This info needs to be made clearly to potential customers!
He was unwilling to give us any reduction in fees for our reservation we wanted to cancel. We totally understand this as we were aware of their reservation policy but he could have been abit nicer about it. Since we had paid for the room we decided we might as well use it as a place to shower and change later in the day before leaving Rouen. But once we saw the room we changed our minds! The bathroom had one of those tiny showers with no curtain. It would be impossible to shower without soaking the bathroom floor and toilet.
We went back to the lobby to tell the manager that we would probably Not be back and to leave the key. HOWEVER, he was no where to be found! There was not a single person on the main floor. We checked all around and kept callling for him. After at least 10 minutes we gave up., wrote a note and left our key.

If you choose to stay at this hotel be prepared for a front desk and lobby that is sometimes left "unmanned". Of course this means that anyone could enter the hotel and reach the guest rooms without being observed.
On a side note, after returning home we discovered that we had also been charged 10 euros for a parking space we didn't use or remember booking!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lovestotravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We arrived from Australia tired and in need of a long bath and a good meal. We had caught the train from Paris, St Lazare and managed to walk our suitcases down the hill to the hotel.
The Dandy met our needs for the first night in beautiful Rouen ,but we were looking for something with a bit more quirkiness and in the "action".We did not have breakfast here as we thought that it was very expensive. The hotel is close to the market area which in itself is fascinating.Several restaurants/creperies nearby for a meal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I thought getting to our luggage to our room would be easy since there was an elevator, but our room was in the 'annex', so after getting off the elevator, we still had to walk across a bridge, then go up a steep flight of stairs with our luggage. The room was surprisingly large. The staff is very nice and helpful. The neighborhood isn't the best, but I didn't feel unsafe. There's no internet connection in the room--you have to use their laptop in the lobby (with French keyboard).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaaaybeee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I Was quite happy with Rouen - your average big French city I guess with some good sights.

The hotel seemed OK until we went inside and were informed there was no parking for our car (NB 3 parking places for 18 rooms!). We were informed public parking was the only possibility and given the area the hotel was in I wasn't prepapred to leave the car in public parking or on the street so on the promise of a refund we went somewhere else with parking.

We have since been informed that we cannot have a refund - quite convenient as we are no longer in the country.

I am more than a little dissapointed with this and would advise checking out the other hotels in the area if you need parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaaaybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The hotel Dandy is close to all sites of rouen, restaurants, bar and market. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The style furniture is uncommon (Louis XV) and give an old french atmospher.
We would recommand this hotel for anyone wanting accomodation in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MINB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#10 of 51 in Rouen
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#20 of 51 in Rouen
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#18 of 51 in Rouen
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#11 of 51 in Rouen
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Dandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dandy

Property: Hotel Le Dandy
Address: 93 rue Cauchoise, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Dandy 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Dandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dandy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing