We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten”
Review of Maitre Corbeau

Maitre Corbeau
Ranked #168 of 817 Restaurants in Rouen
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 6, 2014

After walking out of Les Maraichers in the Vieux Marche I was lucky to find Maitre Corbeau. From the outside it looks pleasant but perhaps there was a slightly alternative, canteen atmosphere which made me pass by when I first saw it, despite the pleasant courtyard. Anyway it was getting late so I went in. Received a warm welcome from the busy staff, smiles, eye contact, where would you like to sit?The funky jeune fille who looked after me seemed to be on speed, she was working so hard! I ordered oeufs en cocotte with epoisses, then escalope de veau normand. Both were perfect, and arrived quickly. A pleasant St Nicolas de Bourgeuil was good value. The restaurant specialises in cheese and salads and other hot dishes. A great combination of new thinking brought to traditional French products. The salads looked good. Most of the diners were real young French people, unlike the Vieux Marche, which was full of visitors.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alanais31420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Really uniquely decorated (on a cow-theme), fun and friendly restaurant, with excellent range of dishes, wine and aperitifs. We are both big cheese-fans so this was one of the highlights of our short stay in Rouen. Thoroughly recommended, although not for those who aren't keen on cheese of course :)

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank immilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had had a long day in Honfleur, so this restaurant on a quiet side street in Rouen, with outdoor cafe in pleasant surroundings just filled the bill. They feature all sorts of cheeses, especially from Normandy of which Rouen is the capital. I had a HUGE salad plate called Franche-Comte [10 EUROS!!] with so many goodies too hard to remember.
Had my favorite San Pellegrino [they do serve wine, beer etc] and two "boules" of my favorite sorbet, citron/lemon. Thus a perfect end to a sunny, pleasant day to remember.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Savvytraveler1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitre Corbeau also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Maitre Corbeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing