We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs help”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Musee Jeanne-d'Arc - CLOSED

Musee Jeanne-d'Arc
Level Contributor
562 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Needs help”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We had to ask to have the lights turned on. Much of the audio did not work. The memorabilia was interesting. Did not know so many movies have been made about Jeanne d'Arc.

Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    8
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dire museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

What a shame as such an interesting topic so poorly represented. Wax dummies in strange positions whilst a voice over tells the storey. It's pretty bad.

Helpful?
Thank LondonGlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Musee Jeanne-d'Arc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This small museum has an entrance that is also a gift shop and has a downtrodden appearance to start with. However, once inside you see a couple of scenes of Joan of Arc and then go down to the basement which has pictures and various artefacts relating to her. At the end of this there is a model of her in her armour. You then go back upstairs to find a tour of various scenes of her life and there is a commentary in different languages. At each stage there is a solitary chair so at least one person can have a rest. It ends with wax figures of the main characters associated with Rouen e.g. Gustave Flaubert. Although a little dusty and not in pristine condition, it is well presented and tells you the whole story of Joan of Arc. As you come out into the gift shop, you find yourself opposite the very modern and unique church built where she was burnt at the stake. It is not well frequented and therefore you do not have the crowds to bother you but is well worth visiting!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
299 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Seems a little hokey but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

On first glance this seems like the worst sort of wax museum. But it actually contains some of the best remaining items related to Joan of Arc as well as newer posters and other items that have become familiar in theatre, films, and novels. There is a copy of the trial transcript as well as coins and other material from the time. While the wax exhibits seem a bit forced, they are actually accurate. Even more so, the mock-ups of the different stages of her life are extraordinarily accurate and useful, even to specialists. It's definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My Husband and I had visited Rouen to discover the place where Joan of Arc had lost her life. After visiting the L’église sainte Jeanne d’Arc, I spotted a little sign noting a museum dedicated to Jeanne D'Arc across the walkway just outside the entrance to the church. I had no idea it was there beforehand and was delighted to see it was open.

A store front offered visitors many types of souvenirs, and the museum was located in the back in a old Roman-style wine cellar. I can't recall off-hand how many Euros we paid to enter, but it was a nominal fee. The museum was very thorough and informative. Scenes from Joan's life were depicted in life-size wax characters and commentary in English, French, German and Italian were available. There were many models illustrating battles and the medieval details of castles. The most memorable items in the museum were a replica of Joan's armour (pictured below), Joan's standard and an extensive collection of all things (new and old) related to Joan.

The gentleman attending the museum spoke English and offered me stamps along with my purchase of postcards! Definitely a must-see for those who love Jeanne.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaHarvey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Jeanne-d'Arc also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing