We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is well placed just by the River Seine but can be missed if you are driving by as it is set back behind the Highland Pub. Parking wasn't an issue as there is plenty of street parking and public car parks at the rear of the hotel (free from 7pm to 9am and then 1 Euro an hour). The lumiere show at the Cathedral at 10.30 meant that car parking spaces fill up at about 6.30 for the evening visitors. Upper floor rooms at the rear of the hotel have views towards to Cathedral and they are furnished simply, although a little tatty around the edges (chipped paint, older built in wardrobes and worn looking hard flooring) it really does the job for a short stay. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and the bathroom spacious enough (unlike the one man and his suitcase sized lift!). The cold breakfast buffet meant that you could fill up for your day with the standard range of fayre (baguettes, pastries, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juice) and the dining area is bright and cheerfully decorated with enough seating (if you don't mind sharing a 4 seater with other guests). There isn't tea/coffee in the rooms however there is a kettle in reception near to the free wi-fi computer. The packed lunch is a simple affair with limited choice but worth asking for (as you've paid for it) and will tide you over during the daytime if you aren't too concerned with having prepacked sandwiches and crisps. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors at the rear have a view of the cathedral and some corner rooms at the front have a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Dan,

Thank you for you comment.
We are very happy to read you enjoy your trip and our hotel.

We try each day to do our best for the guest.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The team of Cœur de City Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 588 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed only one night, just to visit the city and continue our tour. We were 4 friends, booked 2 double rooms, asked for single beds: one room had single beds, the other had a queen size bed. The location is very good, just 5 minutes from the city center. Staff very nice and kind. The hotel is very poor. It's an old building that has been renovated. We found it dirty. We took the stairs, instead of the levator and it is awful, really very dirty. The room is colourful and not too bad (not even good) but the bathroom has a lot of old pipes and not clean (corners are black, there was paper on the floor..). The elevator is very small: hardly fits 2 people with a small luggage. Breakfast was very basic and, since the breakfast room is very small, we had to wait for a table. The way they clean the table is also quite disappointing: the waiters were cleaning the tables with the napkins used by the previous guests: this is not hygiene! The hotel doesn't have its own parking but there is a parking lot just behind (13 euros for 24 hrs). They give you a welcome drink (one can of softdrinks) and a lunch box (sandwich + fruit + chips + water). They try to give some good service and they are nice but they should pay more attention to cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Rosa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Anna,

Thank you for your comment. Since your comming we had a metting with the housekeeper and we instaure news rules to be sure that all the hotel still clean.
Do not hesitate to say a the reception if there is any problem we can always do something for you.

Apologies if you have to wait for your breakfast but some times, and we don't no why, all the guest come together for the breakfast and it can create bottling.

We hope you enjoy your trip and your hollidays were good

Best regards

The team of Cœur de City Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and was pleasantly surprised. Yes it is budget and at times appear a little rough around the edges - but with some added features. The constant supply of tea/coffee and pastries in the foyer is a welcome surprise. The breakfast [included at the low rate] may be basic, but does fill the spot : fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt, baguettes, ham, pastries all in abundance! The hotel has a lift - it is small and can take 3 at a push. The hotel offers a basic 'lunch box' and can be a welcome snack on your days out [do remember to ask for it when you set off to explore the city and surroundings]. Friendly hotel staff - the hotel is cheap and cheerful in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: The lift is small - so be aware if there are more than 2/3 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to leave an opinion on our hotel.

We are delighted that your stay will be well conducted.

All team makes every effort to satisfy our customers.
Moreover by booking directly with us you could enjoy the offer ALL For You and its benefits (welcome drink, lunch box, breakfast and wifi).

We look forward to welcoming you again in one of your future trips in our beautiful city

Best regards

the team of Cœur de City Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Reasonably priced and in a good position to access the town and attractions, we were greeted with a smile and made to feel welcome. It is a little tired and could benefit from some attention. The lift is tiny and a bit dated...not good if you're not fond of small spaces, like me. But it was clean and comfortable. We won't hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: It's easier to park around the back of the hotel as the space in front of the door only accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnewilliams2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank for you comment.
All the team appreciated the fact that their effort are recognized.
We hope to see you again in our etablishement.

See you soon

Best regard

The team of Cœur de City Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has a few issues, despite the low price: The rooms aren't properly renovated. Everything seemed to be half-done, including the bathrooms which were new but seem very hard to clean. The room was very noisy. Ours was quite cramped, while another room had an OK layout. The management seemed confused and unprepared - we had to come back twice before our room was ready. On the upside, the (cold) breakfast buffet was good, the furniture in our rooms was brand new, and the location is very close to the main sights. All in all, we had an OK stay, but there have to be better options in Rouen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments.
Since your coming in August 2012 we left IBIS et now we are Coeur de CIty Hôtel Rouen Cathedrale.
We try to do our best to make enjoy each guest.

We hope you had a nice stay in Rouen.

Sincerly

The team of Coeur de City Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is exactly what it says on the tin, cheap and cheerful. We arrived late on the night of the fete de la musique when the whoe town goes crazy parting on the streets, music everywhere.

Breakfast fills the gap and we loved them for having a kettle for use all day and night for those cups of teas required in moments of hangover crisis.

In all it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeurdecityRouen, Responsable commercial at Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to take time to give us an comments that help us to try to ameliorate our hotel.
Value for money is our goal and we try to do our best each day.
We are really happy that you enjoy the free cafe and tea.

If you reserve by our website our directly at the hotel you can have also a lunch box (sandwich, chips, apple and bottle of water)
If you come back in Rouen do not hesitate to ask a tranquil room

Best regards

The team of Coeur de city Rouen Cathédrale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent 2 different nights there both located on 6th floor. First room had cleanliness issues in the bathroom (toilet not cleaned at all, smell coming from shower drain, stained towels). We called reception and they reacted fairly quickly. Second room had no particular issues but was smaller than the first one (door opening into bedroom touches bed when opening and door opening into bathroom doesn't touch toilet by half a cm probably). Definitely not worth EUR 118 a night!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stfagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Address: 9 Place de la Republique, 76000, Rouen, France (Formerly Coeur de City Rouen Cathédrale)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: $68 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast and Wifi are included in all prices at the Ibis Styles Rouen Cathedral Center. The ibis Styles Rouen Cathedral Center, formerly the Hotel Coeur de City Rouen, is ideally located in the heart of Rouen close to the famous Notre Dame Cathedral, the old town and its pedestrian streets. You will enjoy an ideal location to explore the Golden City. Only one hour from Paris, this is the perfect place to spend a weekend in the capital of Normandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Rouen Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coeur De City Rouen Cathedrale Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing