We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Rouen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“An excellent place to stay in Rouen”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked really late when we got caught by the rain. The employees kindly arranged out late arrival.

The room was clean, we had a beautiful view on the rooftops of the city.

One weird thing: the room starts with a corridor, then the bath, the room itself being after...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    163
    81
    31
    18
See reviews for
67
178
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very central location. Places hotel in medieval tangle of streets, can be difficult to find so investigate 1-way streets before arriving by car. Entrance and lobby are cool. Giant doors are very cool, has a pretty central courtyard. Our large room for 4 had 2 windows that opened to a pedestrian-only street. Nice bathroom, double sinks, beds are basic and adequate. Location so convenient to cathedrals makes it easy to overlook slight shabbiness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is so difficult to find and the info . is not helpful. Staff are not at all welcoming. The room was very basic !!!!. Breakfast would be great if you like fruit !!!!!! But you need to prepare it yourself. I now know what to do with quilted bedcovers I no longer use ---- use them to cover the tables. This is not a 3 star hotel . Se were in a room facing the alley between the cathedral and the hotel and it was so very noisy from 6am onwards . I will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My teen daughter and I stayed in this charming hotel for one night in June. The location was perfect as the hotel was situated in a pedestrian ally on the side of the beautiful cathedral. It was difficult to find, although not as difficult as finding parking. I made several loops around looking for parking and ended up walking about 1/2 mile to the hotel. However, we traveled light and it was well worth it. The room was clean and had individual decor and overlooked the peaceful courtyard. Breakfast was ample and kept me full through to lunch. We felt like a part of history staying in one of the half-timbered buildings we fell in love with.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneywithChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great difficulty finding the hotel on Sunday evening, reception rang at 8pm to see if we were coming, told her we were going in circles trying to find the place but no directions or help offered. Eventually arrived 8.30, no-one on reception and no bell, so husband banged desk for attention, whereupon receptionist appeared and scolded him for banging desk, said there was no food/restaurant in the hotel except breakfast and that the hotel shuts at 8pm on Sunday evenings so handed our room keys and promptly locked front door and disappeared! With friends so had two rooms,both very dated and tired but large only one room had tea/coffee making facilities.
On checking out next morning I pointed out that map on web-site was very misleading and suggested hotel much easier to find than reality,also mentioned that I'd never stayed in a city centre hotel before where no-one available after 8pm to answer queries or help in any way. I was asked why I hadn't raised these points earlier and replied there was no-one there to raise them with, whereupon receptionist went hysterical and told me to "get out" (plus a load of French that was too fast for me to understand)
Not sure they,ve heard the phrase "the customer is always right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked through this website, and a little unsure due to the reviews. However....its a real gem of typical French accommodation, not pretentious, not the chain like Accor (bit like the McDonalds experience). It is however clean, welcoming, extremely good value, and would have no hesitation recommending it.

You can even get WIFI in the room free of charge....hence writing this!

So the room is small...but right in the centre of town next to the Cathedral and the historic timbered streets....and the bed is comfortable.

Our host also spoke good english which helps

Downside?....getting here and navigating the streets...get your sat nav updated to the latest version, all the one way system has recently changed. You will need public parking, but its cheap and close

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanmarkfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Even with a GPS and map of the area, we drove around for quite awhile before locating the hotel. The hotel room was very large, bathroom was average size with the toilet in a separate room of its own. Location is great-very easy walk to cathedrals and old town. Breakfast was also very nice with a good variety of items offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 12 rue Saint Romain, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Rouen
De La Cathedrale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing