We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixed bag”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Don't quite know where to start with this one!

Visited for 3 nights, the room we were given was just weird. It was tiny, just enough room for the bed with no storage except a built in cupboard which was just deep enough to push our suitcase into.

There was not a flat surface in the room to put anything on, not even a chest of drawers so we had to leave everything packed which is not very practical. The bathroom was large by comparison, with a shower cubicle, but the toilet was seperate and situated on the other side of the room at the end of the bed. It had a folding door and seemed to have been converted from a closet.

The good thing about the hotel itself is that it does have a unique feel about it, the courtyard is lovely and the breakfast room is amazing. Breakfast was the best we had during the whole of our trip, and the choice was really surprising. Everything from fresh fruit, yoghurt, meat and cheese, breads, crackers, small cakes, eggs, pots of coffee, hot milk to make your own hot chocolate, and hot water to make any type of tea you wanted.

Another thing that cannot go unmentioned is the location. Its absolutely superb, right in the middle of everything but still nice and quiet. There is no parking, but secure parking is available about a five minute walk away for about 13 Euros per 24 hours.

When we asked for our bill, we had the embarrassment of being charged a higher room rate than we had been quoted at booking. When we questioned this and showed the booking confirmation, the lady just said her colleague must have made a mistake and the bill was correct. It only amounted to about 40 Euros in total but given our dissapointment with the room we were not happy. Eventually, after much protesting, the lady did relent and reduce the bill to the amount we had been quoted but it was not a pleasant situation and highly embarrassing.

Overall, if we were returning to the area we would choose a different hotel. Even paying at the incorrect amount, this was the most we paid for any accommodation during our trip and for us it was not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    162
    78
    30
    17
See reviews for
67
172
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and would definitely recommend it. This hotel has its own character, is in a great central location and had a very comfy bed! The room was decorated in a traditional style with some modern facilities - was clean and spacious. The staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzbyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the Cathedral but a little difficult to find. It is down a little street behind the Cathedral and not particularly well signed. I would suggest that people wanting to stay there use Google Street view to find it first. There are lots of great restaurants close by and the breakfast served in the hotel is very good value for the money. In fact it is probably one of the better 'petite dejeuners' we enjoyed in France. A wonderful garden lounge to enjoy a cool drink in the gardens. Parking is a bit of an issue until you get the swing of it. We used an underground public parking lot and walked the 2 blocks back to the hotel. It was fine as you don't need a car to get around Rouen.

Great hotel , very friendly staff, good prices , the only thing missing was Air conditioning.

Room Tip: Try to get on the upper floor as the rooms seem to be a little bigger, at least ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for one night. The location is great and the building itself has such potential. Unfortunately, our room wasn't up to much and wasn't particularly clean.
Most frustrating however, was the attitude of the staff. I don't expect to be treated like royalty, but we felt like unwelcome guests and an inconvenience to the staff. Reception closes at 9pm, and the staff member explained this to us at 8:55, whilst turning off the lights around us.
A smile costs nothing, but this really wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penfoldbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in late July. Good location behind the Cathedral. Quiet room. Very nice courtyard. Helpful staff. Did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Unfortunately, the floor of our room had not been cleaned and there was a dirty towel lying in the hallway overnight. Don't miss the cathedral light show starting at 11PM!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was in my opinion not worth the money. Room was very dated and can't access easily by car. Breakfast was very good. Would have preferred a Mercure with a more modern bed. Pillows were awful. I am a pillow snob and they had these long round things they tuck under the sheet with no pillow case. Yuk. Beds very small. I always travel with my own pillow and was thanking God on this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here two nights during a quick getaway from Paris. I chose it for its location, it is right next to the cathedral and within walking distance of all the attractions and the train station.
I thought it a bit overpriced for the minimal comforts. A fresh breakfast buffet costs extra. There is a tiny inner courtyard that is nice for relaxing and reading. They do speak some English at the front desk.
The room had the basics but it never felt clean. I'd see a hair on the covers and genuinely question whether it was one of ours. The blankets had that recently slept in smell on our first night. And the hallways stink of dust and mildew. It's such a charming little hotel, but it could use a nice dowse of bleach.

Room Tip: If possible request a room on a higher floor. It can get noisy next to the street and courtyard. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacislander81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#18 of 51 in Rouen
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 12 rue Saint Romain, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Rouen
De La Cathedrale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing