We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the temporary exibitios - The Cathedrals”

Musee des Beaux-Arts de Rouen
Book In Advance
More Info
$295.50*
and up
Small Group Day Trip to Rouen from Paris
Ranked #5 of 75 things to do in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
448 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Liked the temporary exibitios - The Cathedrals”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I like the whole museum but i recomend not missing the temporary exibition -The Cathedrals. Lots of paintings but also all kinds of other things inspired by the theme.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    261
    56
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
603 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Cathedrals exhibit was wonderful”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

When my wife and I visited the museum, we focused solely on the special "Cathedrals" exhibit, and we loved it. A highlight for me was all the material related to Victor Hugo's book "Notre Dame de Paris" and the famous Hunchback. There were, for example, period paintings dramatizing scenes from the book that were thrilling.

After seeing this exhibit, we enjoyed soft drinks in their cafe, a large airy room decorated with some of the largest paintings from the museum's permanent collection. What a great place to relax!

Helpful?
1 Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent collection”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A very good permanent collection for a provincial city. THe exhibtion on the cathedrals was very well laid out and informative.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly acceptable ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

While not replete with major works, the collection has enough gems to make a visit worth a couple of hours in a visit to Rouen. The building is a piece of art too, using light and wall colours to advantage the paintings.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
726 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 963 helpful votes
“A fine arts find”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

An outstanding collection of paintings, prints and objects d'art that should not be overlooked by the visitor to Rouen. In addition to an outstanding collection of the impressionists, the mannerists and classicists Caravaggio and Delacroix are well represented. The temporary exhibit Cathedrals 1789-1914 A Modern Myth was outstanding and the audio guide that accompanied the show worth the cost.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KLE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee des Beaux-Arts de Rouen also viewed

 

Been to Musee des Beaux-Arts de Rouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing