We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Stay”
Review of Au Micocoulier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Micocoulier
Ranked #14 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here in September for 2 nights while cycling for a month in France. This was one of our favorite places... if not our best stay! The room was comfortable, the host wonderful... breakfast delicious and plentiful... and it was close to great restaurants and tourist sites... Since we were traveling by bicycle once we got to a town or village we walked everywhere... So many places to visit in Historic Rouen!! Would definitely recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved our visit at Daniel's unique and charming home. It was a wonderful and authentic way to experience Rouen. The place is conveniently located for tourist destinations, restaurants and shopping. Daniel is the perfect host, willing to accomodate and anticipate any possible needs of his guests. He is willing to share information, and offer recommendations for the best sites not to be missed.
Breakfast was wonderful. Daniel may be France's version of a male Martha Stewart!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to be welcomed in by Daniel and allowed to stay in his home. The whole place is fascinating and you could spend hours just soaking up all the history and ambience of the house and its belongings.
The room was neat, tidy and above all clean, we had a very pleasant sleep. Breakfast was fantastic and well presented. Location fabulous and very central and Daniel was helpful in giving places to see and directions.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Melanie891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I lived in France for 13 years and a stay here is, in my opinion, the best sort of "French experience". Daniel is a charming host and, as other reviewers have said, breakfast is an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DemingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As the stairs in this old house are a little 'off level', I would suggest leaving unnecessary items in your car and only taking in a small case with essentials. The property has only one room but is very comfortable with good en-suite facilities. Agod quality breakfast was provided and bottled water provided in the room. The owner speaks excellent English for those visitors who struggle with French!

Room Tip: As the stairs in this old house are a little 'off level', I would suggest leaving unnecessar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LenF981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay in this charming B&B, located in one of Rouen's delightful 300 year-old half-timbered buildings. It is located in the center of the old town, walking distance to everything. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and very quiet. The beautifully decorated breakfast room overlooking the church and street lined with timbered buildings was perfect for enjoying our breakfast, which included the best croissants we had during our time in France. Daniel was very kind and helpful, and we appreciated his assistance with maps and information about the Normandy coast. The steps up to the third floor room are very manageable, and add to the charm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We (an Australian couple) spent five nights here. The house is a Seventeenth Century half-timbered construction, four storeys high; the accommodation is a room on the third floor. The stairway to the third floor is quite wide, & it is not steep; the steps themselves are wide & safe. The room is small without being cramped, likewise the ensuite bathroom, & everything is spotlessly clean.
Breakfast, which is prepared by Daniel (your host), is taken in a salon from another era. The salon is furnished with beautiful antiques, curios & paintings, many done by Daniel's father, who was a prominent French artist. We are "difficult" guests, in that we are strict vegans, but Daniel rose to the challenge & ensured that we were well fed to start each day.
Daniel is a cultured & highly educated man who retains an active interest in all around him. His work as an architect took him to every continent on the planet (except Antarctica), & he is keen to share his knowledge, but also to learn from his guests. In short, he is a gentleman of the old school. His English is good, & he has just enrolled in a course to improve it more.
A bonus is that the house is right in the heart of the old city of Rouen; it is about 150 metres to the cathedral, & very easy walking distance to interesting museums & galleries.
We would certainly stay with Daniel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RouenDaniel, Propriétaire at Au Micocoulier, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks a lot for your such nice advice I really hope to see you again Yours ever Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 52 in Rouen
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Micocoulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Micocoulier

Address: 208 rue Martainville, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range: $94 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old town of Rouen,opposite SaintMaclou Church and beside the Cathedral,this artist's appartment bears the pretty name of Au Micocoulier, in reference to the lovely mediterranean tree opposite. Within this halftimbered house, the suite offered is quiet, comfortable and airy . It is ideally situated in the pedestrian zone,close to many restaurants with their outsides terraces . At 100 meters, SaintMarc Square with its famous weekly market each weekend and its large underground protected parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Au Micocoulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing