We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Wrexham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We spent a comfortable 3 night stay here which was chosen as a base for our planned trip around the local area. One of the big positives with this hotel was the underground parking charged at 5 euros per 24 hours. Superb!
The check in was handled well and we were offered a free map of the local area automatically which was very useful.
It was a very quiet hotel as it is located a short distance from the city centre. The MetroBus has a station directly outside the hotel where you can be in the centre of the city within a few minutes at a cost of 1.40 per person per trip.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet even overlooking the main road outside.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkippyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    170
    86
    19
    3
See reviews for
54
142
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

It's an Ibis, so I had a pretty good idea of what we were going to get - smallish, functional, well cleaned rooms that would be fine for a weekend break. And that's exactly what this hotel is like. And that's not a bad thing. The staff were very nice and happy to answer our questions and the breakfast buffet is probably the best value you will find locally - not exceptional quality but a perfectly reasonable buffet.

As stated elsewhere, it's about 15-20 mins walk from the historic centre. We walked a few times and always felt safe but you can take the metro to the St.Sever stop which is outside the hotel. The tickets are reasonable (1.4 Euro single or approx 5 Euro for a 2 day travelcard). Opposite is the St Sever shopping mall which has a very large Leclerc supermarket which is handy for buying things for picnics (it's closed on Sundays though).

Rouen is a very pleasant city - the medieval streets around the cathedral are particularly attractive and there are a couple of lovely creperies to be found. If it's on, make sure you go to the lightshow at the Cathedral in the late evening, where computer images are projected onto the frontage to make it look like the Monet paintings - it only lasts for 5-10 minutes but is repeated a couple of times.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SuppersReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Not the easiest hotel to find and we've stayed in better hotels but for a stop-over it was ideal and excellent value for money. Easily walkable to the city centre.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — characterless chain hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK&RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Stayed one night. Check in was easy and hotel was clean and well kept. Rooms are small, beds a bit uncomfortable but for one to two nights the price and location are right. Parking was available and as already stated in other reviews the walk to town is about 10-15 minutes.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jimsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We'd never been to Rouen before (but had seen all those Monets) and needed to stay around there on the way to stay with friends further South. We wanted something car friendly yet fairly central and this Ibis fits the bill. Also we got a great deal (EUR39, non refundable) on the Accor website. Arriving late, we found it without getting lost, parked the car under the hotel (EUR5) and had a good night's sleep. The room wasn't large but had everything we needed. The next morning we were up early and it was only a 10 minute walk into the central area - cathedral, mediaeval streets, gilded clock etc. We didn't use the Ibis for meals or drinks but it scores 4/5 on location and value.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night. Staff was very friendly, the reception area is nice. We could park the car in the underground parking.

The hotel is very close to the city centre, just max 15 minutes walk, but if you take the Metrobus (tram) it is just 3 minutes. We asked for a town map at the hotel and the women at the reception showed us kindly where to go.

The room was basic, it is not the modern-style Ibis with built-in bathroom but a good and genreally clean Ibis hotel. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csakzsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I've used this hotel on a number of occasions over the last five years and have always found it clean and welcoming. A recent refurbishment has brought the reception up to standard at last. Most rooms have showers, but I believe some have baths; ask if it matters to you. The breakfast is good value. Wifi is available, but I'm afraid it is the expensive Orange service with credits that lapse after a month. Not really good enough now that even McDonalds have started offering free Wifi in many of their French outlets...

The location is much better than it looks at first sight; the city centre is a short and direct walk away and the tram from just outside the door will have you in central Rouen in no time.

Although Rouen keeps late hours by French provincial standards the trams don't run after about 11pm, so you will need to walk back if you are later than that. I've done this many times with no problems. (If you want nightlife, the Big Ben pub by the Grand Horloge is an entertaining dive with a wide selection of beers and the Vieux Marche has many restaurants, not all of them expensive. I've found Les Maraichers reliable at medium price.)

Driving to the hotel can be a little confusing, as the road layout is complex and not that well signed; you do actually have to drive over a shared pedestrian area to reach the garage entrance. The garage itself is excellent and I have never known it even near full; this contrasts with very marginal parking facilities at most of the city centre hotels. The parking fee is modest for such a good facility.

The St Severin shopping centre opposite the hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but is actually full of good quality shops and eating places.

  • Liked — As Conrad Hilton said,
  • Disliked — Supplementary charge for Wifi.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Xantoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche

Property: Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
Address: 44 rue Amiral Cecille | Rouen Saint Sever, 76100, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche hotel is located facing the Saint Sever shopping centre, 1 km from the city centre of Rouen, 20 km from the airport and 2.5 Km from the SNCF railway station. The Exhibition Centre is 3 km from the hotel on the left bankof the Seine. Book one of our 80 rooms (of which 27 have WiFi Internet and two are adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make use of the hotel facilities we offer, including a bar, snacks available 24 hours and secure pay parking. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Gauche Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Rive Gauche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing