We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Handy location for the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale to your Saves list
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Croix de Fer | Rue St Nicolas, 76000, Rouen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Handy location for the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Although we didn't have much time to explore Rouen, the hotel is located right by the cathedral and allows easy access to the city. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance and the hotel bar is pleasant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JB_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    590
    216
    56
    27
See reviews for
170
578
62
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Let's start with the biggest challenge, the parking garage. It is located at the rear of the hotel (assuming the Cathedral to be the front), and is a small opening for the underground, right beside the outdoor seating of an adjacent Cafe. It is a tight squeeze to get in, but you will fit (I parked my rented Nissan Qashqai +2 beside a Toyota Land Cruiser). Be aware the exit ticket gate is at the top of the steep ramp, so those with standards beware if you can't handle this!
Ok, the hotel.
I loved this place. It was an awesome mix of old and new (I had room 343, a corner room in the old section) that provided the best of both worlds. The service was both professional and gracious and my provided breakfast was ample and tasty.
I would not hesitate returning to this hotel, in fact, I intend to as soon as I can.
Lastly, the location...perfect.

Room Tip: 343 was in old section with great views and a HUGE bathroom. BUT, had stairs to navigate for access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorefeettoproveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The Mercure Cathedrale Rouen is a decent, reasonably priced hotel with friendly staff and good rooms, but its key plus is its great location: next door to the main attraction of Rouen, its cathedral.
Breakfast quite good (but not cheap), rooms good size and ok quality, room prices for what's offered very acceptable, maybe not very upscale or "design" but above average tourist/business hotel.
Parking bit hard to find, as hotel is in the middle of pedestrian area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for giving you opinion on Tripadvisor.
I will share this nice comment with the staff and, please, do not hesitate to come back to the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale if you plan a new stay in Rouen. We would be pleased to welcome you again.

The staff and I wish you a very good week.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have followed the comments for a year regarding the difficulty in accessing this property with a car. We therefore asked the hotel reception by E-mail before our stay for the detailed "Directions map," that we easily used and actually found the parking garage first. At reception, I asked about the parking garage, based on the "horror show" comments on this site, but were told to park on the second level for larger cars and there was no problem. From the hotel, one can walk to almost every attraction in central Rouen. The hotel staff were very helpful in printing documents and faxing for us. There were nice amenities in the room - tea/coffee-making facilities and a very clean bathroom with good lighting. The lifts were also quite modern and fast. We did not take breakfast in the hotel where the tour groups were dining, but enjoyed a nice patisserie just left of the hotel on the corner. Don't miss the "Musee des Beaux-Arts."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you very much for this nice comment on Tripadvisor.
It is always a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the location and so on. We try to do our best to satisfy our guests, respecting Mercure standards of quality.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale and we wish you a very nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#8 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#14 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale
Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer | Rue St Nicolas, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing