We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Mercure Rouen Cathedral is ideally situated in the old quarter of Rouen. Our room, a large suite with a king size bed, had a beautiful view of the cathedral. We spent 4 nights and there was plenty to do. It was a pleasurable experience simply walking through the many winding streets (ask for a map from the hotel staff). The old quarter is extensive and wonderful – and so unlike North America – one feels that one is walking through history of hundreds of years in Rouen. There are plenty of great places to dine – and some grocery stores as well.

We added the breakfast option and it was a good move as the choices were plentiful and delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi worked fine.

A couple of things to note
- It was noisy on Friday and Saturday night – but this is to be expected – one is in the old quarter and there are plenty of revellers (we could have chosen a hotel further out, but it would certainly not have had the same feeling as being in the old quarter)

- there was a rather large picture of Guy de Maupassant above the bed which seemed unnecessary and not particularly romantic (his large moustache bore a resemblance to Joseph Stalin)

- the carpet in our room had stains on it

But – if returning to Rouen we would definitely select this hotel.

Room Tip: We did ask for a room with a view to the cathedral and it certainly had that; we found that very wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Michael,

We thank you very much for this comment on Tripadvisor and we would be pleased to welcome you again in our establishment.

Have a nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Even though i have spent little time in the hotel itself the experience i had was positive all together. The staff is helpful and nice, speak perfect english and the breakfast it's a plus. Otherwise the location is excellent - exactly in the city center close to the amazing cathedral.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale and I thank you very much for this comment on Tripadvisor.
The staff and I hope to welcome you again if you plan another trip in Rouen.

We wish you a very nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location is probably the best thing about this hotel, although it was not easy to find down narrow pedestrian only access roads. We also liked the good quality bedding, decent maid service, a good sized bathroom, nespresso coffee machine in the room and the quiet location of our Privilege Room on the 5th Floor. The breakfast was also decent. However, there were a number of issues that let this hotel down: just one mirror and that was in the bathroom, a lack of towel rail/hooks, a lack of power points, the bath towels were tiny, although you get a robe in the Privilege Room. The aircon was not very efficient and we were thereduring a mild September, not the height of summer. My elderly in laws were concerned that the bath was so slippery with no bath mats available and no one to carry in their bags when we arrived. The front desk staff were disinterested when we asked about local restaurants. I would however like to make a special mention to the evening barman who had to fish out our travel papers from behind the stupidly designed wardrobes with a variety of gadgets, including a wire hanger. His perseverance deserves a thank you. There is little choice in the Centre of Rouen and while far from perfect, our stay was acceptable.

Room Tip: The Privilege Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet with a view of the the rooftops and spires
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eninaj1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor and we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.
We take your remarks into account and we hope that, even that, you will come back to the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale.

We wish you a very pleasant day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

So near to the Cathedral, and with its own parking, this seemed a great place for a snappy exploration of Rouen on foot. It was. The hotel's literary theme is nicely carried-out and refreshing. Our room was nicely odd in shape and overlooked a quiet, old street. Service was fine and the bath a proper size. I have a feeling French hotel air-conditioning is usually under-par and our room here never achieved that chill which some of us like. I am not sure why, but Mercure don't seem to advertise the presence of kettles in this hotel: there was certainly one in our room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard_D_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you had a good stay and that you appreciated the location of the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale, just in the heart of the city center.

We hope to see you again in our establisment and we wish you a very nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel desperately needs a cleanup and re-vamp. It's the worst Mercure property I've ever stayed in. Worn carpets, lumpy furniture, towels that would shame a Motel 6.... Also, a "we're full and we don't care" attitude at the desk.

Tip: don't bother with the "cathedral view" suites unless you can be assured of getting one of the top two floors. Lower than that, you'll have mostly a view of the streetlights.

Bed was comfortable.
We won't be returning

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank astroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
We are really sorry to know that you did not enjoyed your stay in our establishment and we apologize for all inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We wish you a very pleasant day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this hotel, having arrived by train in Rouen. It was only a short taxi ride from the station - walkable but not with luggage.

The location right in the centre and just around the corner from the cathedral was ideal. We enjoyed visiting all the historical sites and exploring the City - all of which we were able to do by walking. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from, akk within walking distance from the hotel.

Our room in the hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. the staf in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you very much for the time you took to give your opinion on our establishment.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale if you plan a new stay in Rouen.

We wish you a very nice week.

Kind regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location, near cathedral and old section. Stayed 3 nights, on a group tour. Room was just ok. Floor dirty. "Overlooked" an air shaft. I opened the window to let in fresh air, but then heard pigeons and realized they were about to enter the room. A lot of pigeon dung was on the window sill. The room was large and bed fairly comfortable, but it was the most depressing, drab room I've had for a long time. Because I was by the air shaft, it was quiet. Those who overlooked the street complained about the noise on the weekend. Low light, drab colors... nothing to recommend it. The breakfasts were ok. The fellow in the bar quite nice, and the wine good quality. Really, this place is all about the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,

First of all, thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and please, be sure that we will take into account all your remarks in order to improve our services.

We wish you a very pleasant day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 52 in Rouen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: $101 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing