We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in the heart of Rouen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfort in the heart of Rouen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location is what stands out right in the heart of this great city centre - but fairly quiet and peaceful. A great place to walk from but if coming by car, park in the Hotel de Ville underground car park and make the 5 minute walk; cheaper and easier. Excellent location for the lumieres show at the Cathedral and everything old Rouen has to offer, great atmosphere. Hotel itself is fine, as ever great beds but rooms a little functional (those awful wrapped plastic glasses) - breakfast fine but nothing special and no restaurant (plenty of great ones nearby). Staff helpful.

Room Tip: Best go for one with a Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for giving your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in Rouen and in our establishment.
As you said, the hotel is in the heart of Rouen and this is something that our guests really appreciate because car is not necessary to visit the city.
We hope to see you soon at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale and we wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    657
    248
    68
    33
See reviews for
187
668
67
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the city, literally 100m from the cathedral and 10 min walk to the river.

Public areas and the rooms are very nicely appointed and have everything you'd need for a city break, tea/coffee making facilities are always a bonus in France. For a hotel in this price bracket I thought it represented good value considering its location.

The car park is difficult to find, my satnav was taking me up one way streets and pedestrianised zones. Luckily we chanced across the Mecure signs and they led us stright there. As per other reviews the car park is tight......just get a passanger to watch you in.

Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you vera much for thsi nice comment on Tripadvisor.
As you said, the hotel is very close to the cathedrale it is something that our guests do really appreciate.
We hope to see you soon at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale and we wish you a very good day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

great experience in Rouen! it's located in the middle of the town with access to the main attractions, tidy and beautiful wide rooms, breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice! highly recommended! very friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hristo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for this comment posted on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale and please, do not hesistate to come back in our establishment if you plan another trip in Rouen. We would be pleased to welcome you again.
Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

First of all - getting here. After a very long drive from the south of France, we arrived in Rouen looking forward to a relaxing stay. However, this hotel is incredibly hard to find if you come here by car. The sat-nav was taking us down one-way streets the wrong way (the receptionist eventually told us that the one-way system had recently changed, and most sat-navs haven't been updated to show this).

Anyway, if you finally get here, be prepared for yet more stress by trying to park in the underground car park. It was so tight and very awkward and stressful! I was therefore not very happy when we checked in to be told that we had to pay €13 for the privilege of this awful car park.

The location of the hotel is excellent - for exploring the city, it's ideal. However, there are many things about this hotel which would put me off going back. We were in a 'Privilege' room, which had a great view of the cathedral. But the room doesn't really live up to this name. There were cracks in the walls and ceiling, in the bathroom... the little balcony, though very nice, had chipped white paint and it just made the room feel dated and not very well looked after.

There are little 'plusses' that we did appreciate - the free soft drinks in the minibar, the slippers and bath gowns, espresso machine... it just felt a little out of place because of the flaws in the room.

It has put me off staying at a Mercure hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,

First of all, I would like to thank you for giving your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We must respect the brand's standards and I am very sorry if your stay did not match with you expectations. According the hotel access, the staff help you when it is necessary to guid you until the hotel, but we really recomend to update your sat-nav prior to arrival because of road directions changes. For the parking, we divided it in 2 parts to make it easier for drivers to park and I regret if it was easy for you.
For the Privilège room, we take into account all your remarks to improve the quality of our services for our futur guests.

The staff and I wish you a very good day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. The bus left us on the avenue and walked to the hotel. The area is just beautiful and the cathedral is right in the corner of the hotel. There are a lot of stores, restaurants and interesting sites to visit at a 5 minute walk.
The hotel is extremely clean. Our room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Breakfast is very complete: bread, cheese, ham, coffee, milk, juice, etc. and the area to sit is very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sirs,

I thank you very much for this nice comment on tripadvisor.
I am really glad to know that you had a good stay in our establishment and I will share immediatly this comment with the staff.
Do not hesistate to come back at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale if you plan a new trip in Rouen, we will be pleased to welcome you again.

Have a very nice day.
Kind regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing