We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katencamp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We started our two week trip in France with a night at the Mercure in Rouen. It is perfectly situated, close to everything. Our room had an excellent cathedral view. I probably would have given the Mercure 5 stars except for two things: the first of which is that the windows were so muddy that it detracted greatly from the view. The second is that they could easily post on their website how to access their car park which seems to be a recurring nightmare for TripAdvisor travelers. Here is how to do it: Take D6015 to Rue Jeanne d'Arc, turn right. At Rue aux Juifs (looks pedestrianized but it is for cars also) turn right again. Rue aux Juifs ends at Rue des Carmes, turn left. Then turn right immediately onto Rue Saint Nicholas. There will be some posts blocking the street, the center one will be the largest--a thick cylindrical post about 3 feet tall. Slowly drive toward that large post and it will retract into the pavement! (I had to go inside to find this out. Should be posted on the website.) Once you drive over the post the car park entrance is immediately on your right. Push the buzzer for entry. Due to the one-way and the pedestrianized streets, there is no other way to access this garage. But it is large enough for medium-sized cars and it is free with your room rate. There room was large and well-appointed with a very comfy bed. The cathedral bells were not loud and were not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingleStep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a cathedral view room - the room did not face the cathedral but looking down/across the street, one saw the top of the cathedral. A shared balcony gave a great view but also meant could look into other rooms! Small rooms but not atypical for Europe but not much room for suitcases etc. Room comfortable and the location was great. In the middle of old Rouen which was much more extensive than I had expected with great shops, bars close at hand. We loved finding our breakfast in different places - down by the market beside the Joan of Arc Church my favourite. Hotel is about 20 min walk from Rouen station. Great day trip to Monet's garden hiring bikes at bar outside Vernon train station to ride to Givenchy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank easytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have used the Centre Cathedrale a number of times before and always received courteous service. The hotel's central location next door to Rouen Cathedral is excellent, also close to bistros and shops.The one major draw back is that I arrived last Sunday evening and the hotel does not provide any form of food to residents on weekend evenings. Similarly I was working on my lap top in the Hotel lounge the following day, a Monday lunchtime, and again the hotel could only provide hot or cold drinks but no food snacks. Reception staff suggested I went outside the hotel and bought a snack which I could then consume in the hotel lounge. Which I did, getting very wet in the process from a heavy downpour of french rain!
It is unfortunate that a quality hotel cannot match its grading and room pricing by providing a general food service. I gather there is weekday room service but why not in the lounge.

The consolation is that the breakfast spread is excellent with good friendly bi lingual staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentishorchardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Love the location: awsome, right in the middle of everything you would want to do in Rouen. The staff, from the front desk to the servers in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient !!! My room was clean which is the most important aspect of any hotel for me. The breakfast was very good.
I only had one complaint - the quality of the wifi was terrible and not up to the standard of other Accor hotels PLUS they restricted the use so it was not possible to Skype.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 165TravelDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location. It was central and also had parking available, important because this was a driving trip for three of us. My husband, an elementary school friend of mine and I were beginning a month long trip to France and Rouen was our first stop. We have had good experiences at Mercures in the past, and this added to our list. The room was decorated in a delightful way and was unusually large for an European city hotel. It was meticulously clean, and even though on a relatively busy street, quiet. The breakfast was very good and they did have an available bar in the hotel. It was close to a number of good restaurants, which was and issue as my husband was having problems with his knee and found walking difficult.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rouen and wanting walking access to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rouen centre, paticularly by the Cathedral, is very olde worlde & quaint. Great for sight seeing, not so for driving. The hotel card park is relatively well sign posted. The entrance is very narrow & the underground parking area very tiight - a small car would be much easier!

The reception staff were friendly and efficient, could speak good English & were helpful.

The location is excellent - right by the Cathedral & within easy walking distance of the beautiful centre with loads of restaurants & bars.

The hotel bar is adequate and serves as the breakfast area as well.

Overall a standar class city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#11 of 50 in Rouen
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: $109 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing