We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid business travel address with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a Mercure that is a cut above the rest. The service has dramatically improved during the course of the last year. The rooms have been modernized and the free wifi connection is good. The food at the restaurant is very good. The same can be said about much of Rouen, but it is nice to have everything in one location on a business trip. Parking is available, but don't bring a Hummer as space it tight.

Room Tip: As for a room far from the elevators ....
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

many thanks for your comments, I give it to my team.
We hope see you soon In our hôtel
Best regards
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 641 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel during a business visit to Rouen. My room was modern and appeared to be recently renovated, it was very comfortable. The hotel is adjacent to a very busy street, but my room faced the rear and was very quiet. The breakfast had a good selection of different items and staff are efficient & friendly. I had dinner in the restaurant and room service and in both cases the food was tasty & hot. The hotel offers very good value for money, the only detriment might be the location as it is far from the main tourist area. However for some visitors that might be a positive!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank FrancoisK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for your comments, we are happy you enjoy your stay in Mercure Roiuen Champ Mars.
The city center is at 10 minutes by foot from the hotel not so far away

Best regards
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Normally with a Mercure you know what you're going to get, and to be honest some are a little lack luster, but this one is really quite nice. Rouen is a coupe of hours from the ferry ports, so a good distance for a first nights stop. All we wanted was a clean room and a hotel with a restaurant that's open on a Sunday in April. Easy you'd think.

The rooms are clean and tidy, no problems there, in fact they were good by french standards. And yest the restaurant was open and it has a nice to good restaurant, we were the only people in, but they had the full menu available and we both enjoyed the meal. The bar is very good, normally in a hotel the bar is a small are behind reception, this one is very large and they have a full range of drinks including cocktails.

It was the same for breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, the full deal and again we were the only ones there. They have a large underground parking, which you do need.

All in all a nice place to stay, but it is expensive, but we'd go back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Many thancks for your comments, we are happy you spend a good tiime in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars.
We hope see you soon
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were on a long journey back to England just after Christmas. The weather was foul and we missed our channel crossing. Some kind locals guided us
to this Mercure. We needed a reduced mobility room which although small was very well designed with a good bathroom. We had a good meal and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We are pleased you have spend a good time in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars

We hope see you again

JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is very easy to access if you approach from the north on the A28. However, with the closure of the Pont Mathilde the hotel does suffer from the amount of traffic passing by. Since the main east-west traffic in the city and the north-south traffic from the A28 is funnelled past the front of the hotel.

Internally, almost everything is excellent, reception, cleanliness and breakfast. Especially breakfast! Another major advantage of the Mercure group, from my point of view, is that the group continues to utilise sprung mattresses, which more comfortable.

The only drawback within this individual hotel was that the air conditioning was not operational, as mentioned in earlier reviews, which in a warmer month would make the hotel unbearable!

We took breakfast, which was excellent and only bettered by one other hotel on mainland Europe, Novotel in Ypres or Ieper in Flanders. But in aspects this was better as it was "free of charge" as we are over 60. Making this hotel the best hotel bargain in France, if over 60!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We are pleased that you like our hotel, room and breakfast.
We hope see you soon, and you can test our Fitness room

Jean Louis HOSSIN
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BrianCaines
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: $88 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing