We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars(Rouen)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Morand(Rouen)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Gourmandine(Rouen)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$447
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
122
332
189
43
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
332
189
43
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschamp de marsriviera travel tourold towncar parkper hourmercure rouentown centreshort stopgood sizewould stay againprivilege roombusiness tripplenty of hot waterten minute walkfour nightstea and coffeebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 699 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when we travelled to Normandy recently, for 6 nights. It was a little further out from the town centre than I expected, but it was a clean and comfortable hotel. The choice for breakfast was excellent and we had 2 evening meals there, which despite being a bit on the expensive side, were fine and good to eat. Especially on the first night after a long journey! On the whole the staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes, the building lacked a bit of soul, but it's a chain hotel on the edge of town, so what do you expect?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face on to a square away from the main road. No traffic noise but there is a fountain that may be annoying if you like the window open!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Many thanks for your comments

Have you test the "Espace forme" ??

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

As with all such branded hotels, once inside you could be anywhere! Complete lack of character. On the good side, the hotel is clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. On the less-good side, the room had little natural light, looking out onto a concrete wall of what I think may the hotel next door. The room had been decorated in chocolate, cream and a sort of 'beige' which didn't help. Lighting in the room was quite low and poor. If I had been staying more that a few days I would have begun to slide into depression! Don't know who recommends these colour schemes, but honestly, I hope they weren't paid for it!!!!!! I was amused by another review mentioning the one tea bag - yes, this was our experience too! We also had to go in search of toilet roll at one point as it was not replenished. Not sure what prices people pay for this hotel, but the prices on the door suggest it isn't particularly cheap. If this is the case it isn't, in my opinion, worth it. Perhaps the worst point is that in order to get into Rouen, you need to walk down a side road, which runs alongside the main road. Some of this road has been fenced off as a work compound so you are walking down what is effectively a narrow snicket. It is quite dark, dirty, littered - particularly with empty bottles and cans, and in our case there was a dead pigeon! During our few days stay we walked past a drunk sleeping it off, and arguing workmen. I really didn't like having to get past this messy and, frankly, scary part to get to Rouen centre. Overall, I wouldn't recommend the hotel until something is done about access to Rouen centre, especially if you are a woman or women travelling alone.

Room Tip: I can only say that our room overlooked a concrete wall and parking bay, which made our room very dark as the lighting in the rooms is poor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Many thanks about your comments above de light in the room, we are looking for change it.

The works outside may be finish in one month and all will be Ok

Best regrds
JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night and didnt expected anything special fro this hotel, however we were surprised that this hotel advertised as 4 stars rated. Have booked about 2 month in advance, room we got was very used, at end of corridor of first floor. No minibar in the room, bathroom is connected with thin door to some noisy technical room. In the room was very dark due small window an big trees outside, was impossible to read cause of economical lamps which are giving not enough light in this room. I just didnt had to time to make official compliant to hotel managament, cant recommend this to anyone

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aleksandr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a good hotel, not marvellous, but little to complain about.
At the moment the traffic in front of the hotel is horrendous due to one of the main through routes in Rouen being out of action - we were told this is likely to continue for at least another year - if you are motoring it makes arriving and departing from the hotel (and Rouen) very slow.
As long as you don't inspect too minutely the hotel is clean and well equipped. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant served perfectly acceptable food at the average price for Rouen (quite pricey). It is safer to book a table (especially at the weekend). If you do, make sure the Reception staff have done it properly - we booked twice and on one night Reception had booked the wrong time - we then checked about the other booking and the restaurant had no record of it.
If you cut through the back streets you can be in the centre of the town in about 15 minutes. We asked for a quiet room and we were given one at the back of the hotel - and it was very quiet indeed.
For a city centre hotel it was fine and I would happily return....when the bridge is mended!

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise ask for a quiet room away from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Many thanks for your commetns

We hope see you soon

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews