We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    275
    150
    38
    10
See reviews for
83
214
37
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a good hotel, not marvellous, but little to complain about.
At the moment the traffic in front of the hotel is horrendous due to one of the main through routes in Rouen being out of action - we were told this is likely to continue for at least another year - if you are motoring it makes arriving and departing from the hotel (and Rouen) very slow.
As long as you don't inspect too minutely the hotel is clean and well equipped. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant served perfectly acceptable food at the average price for Rouen (quite pricey). It is safer to book a table (especially at the weekend). If you do, make sure the Reception staff have done it properly - we booked twice and on one night Reception had booked the wrong time - we then checked about the other booking and the restaurant had no record of it.
If you cut through the back streets you can be in the centre of the town in about 15 minutes. We asked for a quiet room and we were given one at the back of the hotel - and it was very quiet indeed.
For a city centre hotel it was fine and I would happily return....when the bridge is mended!

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise ask for a quiet room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your commetns

We hope see you soon

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed end of August 2013 as part of a Riviera trip to area.
First off have to say Riviera package was wonderful including our guide Peter who was very knowledgeable so no complaint there.

BUT although room at hotel was larger than have had before with Riviera on other trips we were treated like second class citizens from the word go. At breakfast we were ushered into a seperate room away from normal breakfast area and fed an inferior limited selection of bland food. You could easily see the difference in variety and quantity of what was available.
Even our coach driver was allowed to eat in this area but not us, strange he was French though.
Basic cereal and cheap sliced bread for toasting. Say for toasting as the machine they had there took about ten minutes to even start turning the bread a shade darker! I do not exagerate on time.

What was on offer kept running out and the one and sometimes two waiters were in no hurry to refill any hot water flasks or coffee for drinks nor indeed any food.
Some members of our group went to the "proper breakfast room" first day and were soon shown the door again with very short and sharp pointing gestures and ushered into the poor quarter with the rest of us.
Third morning we were even thrown out of our small breakfast room into a smaller room as there was a business group at hotel who were obviously further up the pecking order than us Brits!

Waiters, and hotel staff in general around reception did not smile or want to talk to anyone from Riviera party. It was as if you have paid a cheaper group rate, we have got your money, so take it or leave it. Only staff who did speak and smile were cleaners who were probably after some financial gain at the end of our stay!
When we complained to the waiter/waiters we were met with shrugs of shoulders like do not understand!

Would I go to this hotel again NOOOOO WAY and I recommend you dont either!


Would I go on Riviera trip again most certainly but suggest they pick another hotel in Rouen next time.

Room Tip: Best tip about choosing room is to choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
The breakafast we serve you and at all or groups are the same we give in the restaurant with the same products
We don't serve groups breakfast in the retaurtn because we don(t have enough places.
In our hotel there is no poor or rich guests , our or clinet are same.

best regards
JL Hossin
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rouen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is really good. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bar is a great place to relax after a days sightseeing. They even let me park my motorcycle just outside the reception so it could be seen and safe.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back overlooking the fountain in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johntdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
My team and I are peased you spend a pleasant stay in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars

You have a good time in our room and bar, which is nice and cosy

Thank

J L HOSSIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Rouen but my Sat Nav took us straight to the hotel without any problems. Check in was prompt and the reception person was very helpful and spoke good English although we started in French!

The room was very comfortable with a very large bed and a nice view of the fountain at the back of the hotel.. We slept well at this hotel and did not suffer any noise from traffic or other guests.The bathroom was clean and had sufficient toiletteries and towels etc

It is a short walk along the river to the centre of town where we found a good selection of restraunts in the pretty old centre.

We had the buffet breakfast which was fresh and well cooked and set us up for the rest of the day it was reasonably priced. We also paid for parking which was ok as we were close to town..

The hotel was pleaseant and good value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many thanks foryopur comments.

We are happy you spend a good time in Rouen and in our hotel

We hope see you soon

Jean Louis HOSSIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.8 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#15 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing