We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed August 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jimmyzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped here for our return journey. Local bridge and roadworks caused a bit of problem trying to find our way there (when using sat nav), but not an issue when using common sense!

The hotel was quite nice, but we felt the rooms were a little tired for the top end price the rooms were being charged out at.

The restaurant was perfect after a long day's driving with excellent food and service.

Would be nice to visit once again, hopefully when the rooms are updated and the local works completed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

In fact we have works in front of the hotel but now not for a long time.

Jean louis HOSSIN
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NB2204
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the south-eastern edge of central Rouen, on the right bank of the Seine, this hotel will suffice on many levels. It is a 10 minute walk from the old town centre, the rooms are modern and clean, the restaurant is OK but certainly not gourmand. The staff are obliging and efficient. The room rates are reasonable. On the plus side the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have experienced. On the minus side the bar tariff was high (beer about twice average cafe price) and there was no easy chair in the room.
Beware Access! The Mathilde bridge (part of the eastern ring road and on the RN31) is closed until October 2014 so there is a near permanent traffic jam as vehicles on those roads are detoured to the next bridge down river. If you are coming from the station, ask to be taken to the back entrance, on the Esplanade du Champs de Mars, via rue Gambetta, avoiding the gridlocked Boulevard de Verdun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halffrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many thanks for your comments above our hotel, we are happy you spend a good night in a good bed.
Actualy the Mathilde bridge is closed but the traffic is still easy during the day, espect at 8 AM.
Your sugest to arrive by the back of the hotel is very good

many thanks
JL Hossin
General manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rouen is a lovely city, and this hotel is well located for road access and only 10 to 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Normal Mercure "middle of the road" standard. Service was very good and rooms adequate and clean. Because of the ease of road access, it is popular with coach parties, (3 or 4 per night whilst we were there).

Room Tip: If you want a nicer view ask for a room at the back, overlooking the park, but the sound proofing is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are proud you spend a good time in our hotel.
Our situation near the city center and with our car park madef our hotel a good place to stay and visit Rouen easy.

Jean Louis HOSSIN
Generla Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a fairly large group. On arrival, I was pleasantly surprised with our room, which had obviously been recently refurbished.There was enough space, and enough hangers for us to unpack, also, drawers and shelves. The bathroom was modern and well laid out, with a very good shower over the bath rather than a walk in cubicle. This might be difficult for some older people, although there was a rail to grasp, which helped. It was spotlessly clean, and soap, bath gel etc. were always replenished.The towels were changed daily, but oh dear, they were poor thin worn out ones, and going grey instead of white after so much wear. Tea, coffee and a kettle were in the rooms, and extra supplies of these were willingly given at reception.
As a group we did not use the main dining room, and we had a set menu. it was adequate, but not exciting, and the vegetarian option if requested, was usually omlette. Other than that, the dinner menu did not repeat. Service was patchy, and when another group checked it, it was extremely slow... The staff seemed to be trying, but were obviously over stretched.
Bar service before dinner was slow, as everyone tended to arrive at the same time, and usually only one person was serving.
Breakfast was basic, but I think considering the price paid for the package, was fair value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a very nice view of the gardens and fountain.Front rooms overlook a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are happy you find the room spacious and just restored as many of them.
We have ta and coffe facility in all of our rooms.

Jean Louis HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall a pleasant stay. Would have liked summer duvets though! Had an unfortunate experience in the restaurant. Waited over 30 minutes to be served. No warning given by the head waiter of waiting time. Did not even have offer of an order for drinks whilst we waited. Too add to our irritation orders were taken from two sets of couples who came in after our party of four! Left, as it meant eating much later than we anticipated. Pity, as fellow travellers had sung the praises of the food.

Found three Auberges in rue Martainville which provide excellent food and service. In particular the Auberge Saint Maclou.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is good. The lifts excellent. One of our party was allocated a room above the bar. Aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are pleased you spend a peasant stay in aour Hotel.
We apologize for the time you wait before diner, but all your group come in the same time in the restaurant and it was difficult to serve every body in time.

Jean Louis HOSSIN
general manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing