We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for Riviera travel tour in Normandy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very efficient and quick check in considering we were part of a group of 49 including coach driver and tour manager.
Restaurant meal on first evening was excellent and very reasonably priced.
Pleasant short walk from town centre passing several restaurants and cafés.
Only hiccup was failure of room lock on third day but quickly sorted by move to another room.

Room Tip: We had rooms at rear overlooking park with pool and fountain. Quiet. At front may be overlooking mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhillyardLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Many thanks for youy remarks following your stay in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars.

We are happy you spend a good time.

jean Louis HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 671 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel was OK. First room stank of cigarette smoke.
Second room was better still a faint smell of smoke. No sign of `no smoking` signs anywhere. We had asked for a no smoking room.

We now understand that breakfasts are free for over 60s, I imagine a lot of those on the trip will be rather angered by this!
The breakfast supplied for coach parties differs markedly from the regular (or free to over 60) one, as it is barely adequate for any hotel. The food is slow to be replaced, if it arrives and has almost none of the choices offered to regular customers in the normal restaurant. Very disappointed Riviera.at choice of hotel or deal struck with them
The staff were surly, if you could find them.
The hotel is well placed for town.
The air con made a noise but didn`t actually work. Opening a window is fine unless the goods train passes by at 5 am or at the back, apparently youths are shouting until they disperse.

Room Tip: If going with a coach company, ask about the free proper breakfast if over 60 and if under 60 ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Several people of your group are very pleased of their stay in my hôtel, your are not !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel chosen by travel company and quite a few of us agreed on the following points.
a) Second floor corridor carpet stank .. try to hold your breath between your room and the lift or stairs.
b) 16 euros for breakfast an absolute rip-off. Our breakfasts were included in the package price but no doubt the cost was somewhere in the bill.
c)7 euros for a pint of lager in the bar was another rip-off. We discovered on our last day that a number of our party bought beer and wine from a nearby supermarket and drank in their rooms. The restaurant must have lost a lot of income as we never saw the bar crowded....
d) possibly would not go to this hotel again but it was adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psjdeqtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

The carpets are cleaned every Week, so I dont anderstand wy you say it stank.

At the Breakfast buffet you can find many products unlimitedly hot and cold, it's like a lunch or diner if you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the Mercure as part of a Riviera Travel tour of Normandy. The room was comfortable and appeared to have been recently refurbished. It was quiet, overlooking the square at the rear of the building. Using the rear access of the hotel enabled ready access to the old part of Rouen and a good range of restaurants. Only problem was the room not being serviced on one day and generally a failure to replenish the tea and coffee facility.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CathandPeteBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Sir

Many thanks for your remark, we are happy you spend a good time in our hotel Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars.

We hope see you soon in Rouen

Jean Louis HOSSIN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Comfortable and convenient place to stay in Rouen. Plenty of car parking space even if somewhat difficult to get in and out of with a 4 x 4. Very helpful lady on reception told us that breakfast is free for over 60's in all Mercure hotels, not something I've seen publicised anywhere and as their buffet breakfast is 16.50 Euros per person that's quite a useful saving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Sir
We are delightes you were able to take advantage oh the "Senior" offer with breakast free.
Our parking lot is rather spacious to receive any style of cars
See you soon at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars
Jean Louiis HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Agree with other reviewers that the corridors were dark and the corridor on the floor we were on smelt of stale smoke. The room was average and nothing like the one in the picture. Good points were tea and coffee making in the room and a gym / sauna - bad points were the breakfast which was Euro 16 for basic fare and parking which was tight and cost 0.50 euro per hour. Rouen itself is lovely and well worth a visit - the hotel was a 10 minute pleasant walk to the centre.

Room Tip: We had a back facing room - rooms at the front may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was chosen by the company I worked for, so I don't know how much they paid, but I hope it wasn't a lot ...

It is easily accessible, right off the highway exit and only a short walk from the city centre, but on a very busy road.

Check-in was smooth and the staff were friendly. My room was quite spacious but rather dark (only one narrow window, overlooking a car park), and later turned out to be located directly above the (noisy) hotel bar. Some of my colleagues confirmed that the rooms on the higher floors were more quiet.
The room was clean, as well as the bathroom. Unfortunately, the electric heater didn't work.

Food: The breakfast buffet was copious and of good quality, except for the fruit salad (a bit sour), but we weren't at all impressed with the meals served at lunchtime. I even skipped dessert on one occasion, which I normally never, ever do ...
Finally, the waiting staff were very friendly, except for the headwaiter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Els76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing