We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great service and excellent food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistrot d'Arthur

Le Bistrot d'Arthur
Ranked #19 of 643 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, great service and excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stopped over in Rouen on the way back from Bordeaux with friends and our kids. It was late and most places couldn't seat 7 outside. Found this place and they really bent over backwards for us. They were happy for us to sit inside and have a drink whilst we waited for a table to become available (10 mins only, but most places wouldn't!). They were really friendly, and spoke English, provided English menu's for the youngsters. Then came the food, and we were all really impressed, with every meal. The highlights for me were the starters, especially the escargot, and the scallop terrine (beautifully fresh, light and fantastic flavour!). The real star however was the fois gras, home made and the best I have ever tasted, great flavour and really creamy texture. The mains were all of a similar standard, the entrecôte, and sirloin a cooked spot on and great flavours, and the trio of fish (especially the salmon) was excellent. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacko1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    238
    67
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Rouen in June and had evening meals here both times. As stated the staff are friendly, patient and speak English plus supplying an English menu. Really enjoyed the food. Popular place for locals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knotweed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good restaurant where the locals come in numbers. Excellent with camambert sauc. Nice house wine and a very pleasant place tot visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Chose this establishment randomly whilst visiting the JofA area of Rouen.
Fabulous 2 course lunchtime special of Crayfish and Side of Beef.
Good food, atmosphere and value and very close to some much more expensive restaurants around the square.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyfeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely little bistro, serving very nice local food - we had duck in a cider sauce, a nice change after relentless steak/frites in many city centre eateries. They server local Normandy cider (definitely try this if you're in Normandy) which was why we chose it (and for its name - my grandfather's called Arthur!). Many of the customers were French, rather than tourists, which tells you the quality, and 11-14 euros for a main course was a lot cheaper than nearby bistros. I'll be going back if I'm ever in Rouen and again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrAngharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot d'Arthur also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bistrot d'Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing