We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically French hotel”
Review of Le Sisley

Le Sisley
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Sisley
Ranked #24 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a typically French hotel. It's located in the centre, near the train station. The staff is very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The decoration is personal, so you don't have the impression you're in a chain hotel (which you're not). The only negative aspect of the "typically French" thing: the rooms are small, there is no elevator, but a very narrow flight of stairs that could be a problem with heavy luggage. I thought it was charming, but I realise this might be a problem depending on what you're used to. It's also one of the cheapest options in Rouen as far as I'm aware.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Le Sisley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I loved the idea that every room has it's theme from the art world. It was a pleasant stay, and a good value for your money.
But you do feel like the place needs a bit renovation. Even the stairs are crooked and you need to watch your step.
Also, somehow the deal with the parking lot wasn't good and we ended up paying more than 20 euros for two nights stay...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is just off Rue Jeanne d'Arc and well located - go towards the old market square, a couple of minutes away, and you will find an intermarche, a covered market, lots of bakeries, shops and restaurants. We didn't use public transport as all the sights of central Rouen were in easy walking distance.

It is clearly an old building but a lot of work has been done, and when you come in all you smell is a hint of fresh laundry.

We took the advice of another reviewer and booked the 'Degas' room which is on the top (third) floor - this means that no-one is clumping past you on the stairs. The stairs are indeed good exercise and there IS a fire escape mechanism out on to an adjacent roof. The room was immaculately clean with things like brand new curtains, a well-refurbished bathroom with a good powerful shower and good bedding. There is road noise although it goes quiet at night - the double glazing cuts out most but the room gets warm so you may want an open window. Felt very safe with a door code and there always seemed to be someone on duty. Towels changed daily and beds made, also free soap and shampoo. The room was reasonably spacious, especially for France!

We only took breakfast once but it was a good filling French breakfast and recommended. Staff all very helpful and friendly (even carrying a bag up the stairs), with English spoken although happy to help you stumble along in French.

we didn't have anything to use it with, but there is free wifi.

if you don't mind the stairs this hotel is highly recommended and I would stay again.

Room Tip: top floor rooms mean no-one passing on the stairs. All rooms face the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Easy 5-10 minute walk from the train station and a few minutes walk again to the centre. I didn't expect a lot because of the low price but was pleasantly surprised by the helpful and friendly front desk staff. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious.  Unfortunately it's a noisy place with the creaking wood staircase. It's a real quirky hotel that probably needs a bit of a spruce up, although it may have just been my room.  Wifi was hopeless and dropped out all the time.  TV remote didn't work - while these problems weren't critical to my stay in Rouen, they were annoying at the time.  

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allblacks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this hotel from Internet reviews and it was everything we'd hoped for! Charming, quirky, well-positioned in the centre of town but very quiet. Rooms clean and comfortable, each distinctively decorated in the style of an artist. We spent an initial night en route south, and on our return later we stayed a further three nights after our car broke down nearby. The staff are lovely, so friendly and helpful and made us feel very at home despite our poor French. They were very accommodating of our vague plans (waiting on news of our car repair) and went to great lengths to help us.

I loved Rouen, loved the hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

Great for those who appreciate art, who embrace charm and who are physically fit - there are many stairs which could be a challenge to the less fit!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is located in an old townhouse, which has not had a lift or other 'mod cons' installed. It thus retains lots of original charm, but has lots of stairs! The room I stayed in (Sisley, 2nd floor) was 'shabby chic' but charming and absolutely spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel from rooms, to bathrooms, to dining room, to hallways). Breakfast cost 7.5 Euros and was an optional extra that I took twice. It was lovely, and I thought good value for money compared to some of the large 'chain' hotels I have stayed in previously. It consisted of: 1/4 litre jug orange juice, pot of coffee, small bowl of fresh fruit salad, fruit yogurt, two mini croissants, two mini french toasts, two slices of french bread, and two 'craquottes' (a bit like Rivita, but much nicer!) with jams and butter sachets. The staff were very good, friendly and efficient and managed to find me an adaptor for my laptop which I was allowed to borrow for three days without charge. Excellent hotel (if you like shabby chic, which I do!) and fantastic location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersephoneMagdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is close to theGare and and the attractions of Rouen. It was value for money. The room was ok and clean but lots of stairs. The staff were efficient and heplful and the breakfast as expected in France (limited but sufficent).

Rouen is an interesting city to wander in particularly when the sun comes out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausejour
Hotel Beausejour
#35 of 51 in Rouen
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astrid Hotel
Astrid Hotel
#33 of 51 in Rouen
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#26 of 51 in Rouen
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#12 of 51 in Rouen
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 51 in Rouen
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sisley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sisley

Address: 51 rue Jean Lecanuet, 76000, Rouen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Sisley 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Sisley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing