We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Gourmet find”
Review of La Petite Auberge

La Petite Auberge
Ranked #10 of 669 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Our Gourmet find”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Following a Trip Advisor recommendation we visited this petite restaurant while on a New Year cruise to Rouen. It is essential that you book as we did, and had the last table ! It was a truly wonderful experience. The decor is simple, the staff welcoming and the food is excellent. As professional foodies we cannot applaud this restaurant enough but I am sure they do not need any more accolades as at least 20 people were turned away while we were there - word obviously had got around of this gourmet find in the heart of medieval Rouen !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    318
    54
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“January 2013 Long Weekend”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ate at this restraurant following recommendation from b&b owner. Saturday night 8pm thr place was full, so it was a good thing that we had booked. Service was attentive and atmosphere welcoming and relaxed.Foie gras starter was great, but the amount of garlic in the butter over the snails was overpowering for our taste.Steak and veal main courses were good. Cheese board have great choice, although by this time wew were getting very full. Deserts were not up to the same standard...my wifes choice of gateaux was not the sweet tooth cream exposion she had expected, due to her poor French she had chosen a cold rice cake, so be careful what you choose! Wine was reasonably priced and altogether it was an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 811claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Petite Auberge”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 2 weeks travelling through France and this was the best restaurant by far and ended up spending both the nights which we had in Rouen at this place. Food, service and setting were superb. Go for the 4 course set meal, which includes a cheese platter after your main course and enjoy a truly French culinary experience, without any of the pretentiousness.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cozy, good food, very busy”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited La Petite Auberge for lunch on our day trip to Rouen on a weekday in late August. We came pretty late ~ 1:20, best tables were already taken, we were (party of 4) seated at the back of the second room. It was comfortable and cozy.
Location: In the heart of historic Rouen, walking distance to medieval highlights.
Service: although our hosts spoke very little English and our French was nonexistent, our questions were answered with help from several staff members, hand waving and good humor. It was a busy Wednesday afternoon, the place was packed with French speaking guests and service took very long. So either come early or be prepared to wait
Food: Suggestions turned out to be very good. Portions were generous and we felt very satisfied.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhereNextNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good.....until the end!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A busy establishment in a pretty area of Rouen that failed to live up to its Tripadvisor reputation and the proudly displayed Tripadvisor 2012 certificate on the wall.

Whilst the food was good and the ambience lively there is no reason this should should stand out as #1 amongst its peers....it is as good other restaurants offering the same type of food at the same price around Rouen.

The gentleman waiter was very professional as was (mostly) the young lady - a spilt drink due to a broken glass stem was swiftly replaced at his volition and the table as efficiently cleaned.

Sadly, I felt that the lady who appeared to be in charge found some of her clientele to be a source of amusement (despite them spending lots on the day as a large group) and often had a "nod and a wink" and behind the hand whispered laughs in certain directions when she could, with the younger waitress. Her sense of hygiene left little to the imagination as she coughed her way over the bar area without covering her mouth.

It is also a shame that a chef who has established a reasonable reputation through the visitors to this site, feels that it is okay to serve a desert (Profiteroles) where one of the two items on the plate was clearly burnt and not fit to serve. There is no excuse for this (sauce was poured over the top and the burnt offering would have been clearly visible) and he let himself down. The offending item was pointed out to the waitress only to receive a further disappointing "oh dear".

Number one?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank hotchef1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Auberge also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to La Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing